Posted by: Anja | June 28, 2012

Peach Cobbler

Since my own country strongly disappointed me in today’s soccer match, I reverted to baking something completely non-German und completely Georgian (is that the right term?). I made peach cobbler which is traditionally a dessert in one of my, many, former homes – Georgia (the USA one). Georgia is also referred to as the peach state and has a huge peach on signs anywhere you enter the state similar to Florida, who throw around oranges. Maybe it’s a fruit-off?

Anyway, I know this peach cobbler doesn’t look too much ‘cobbler’ but I’m confident that can be achieved by a not-so-small-as-mine pie form or a bigger square baking form. Also, I didn’t have enough peaches around this time (only 4), but I will next time – promise! And yes, there will be a next time. Though I don’t think this recipe will make it into my all-time favorites, it’s decent comfort food which is probably even better with vanilla ice cream.

Peach Cobbler
idea adapted from  allrecipes

 6 peaches
150g sugar
zest of 1 lemon
juice of 1 lemon
180g all purpose flour
1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
pinch of salt
75g butter
1 egg
100ml milk

First step: Preheat the oven to 200°C (400°F). Cut the peaches either into slices or into tiny squares. I prefer squares simply because it makes eating a lot less challenging. Throw together with the lemon zest, juice and 150g sugar. Put into your baking form and directly into the oven while you make the batter.

Second step: Combine the flour, tablespoon of sugar, baking powder and salt. Cut the butter into small pieces and use your fingers to incorporate until the flour resembles something like squishy breadcrumbs. Add the milk and egg and stir to combine.

Third step: Retrieve the form from the oven and drop dollops (don’t make a continuous top like me, it just doesn’t pass the visual) of batter onto the top of the peaches. Put back in for another 30-35 minutes and then enjoy while still warm.

Generally, the cake part is relatively dry but the peaches will leave you with a healthy amount of juice in the baking form, just add some on top of the cake and you’ll be fine. Alternatively, I can not stress the merits of ice cream enough! :)

Responses

  1. Loved your creation , so lovely! =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

