Posted by: Anja | October 30, 2011

Roasted Pumpkin Soup

Pumpkin… hmm… I didn’t really know what to expect when I decided to try to integrate a little bit more pumpkin into my cooking. With most of the cooking blogs that I read being based in the US, pumpkin is an ingredient that comes up over and over again. But it’s not really common here in Europe. And I think partially I am/was afraid to go too pumpkin, because it scared me to see parallels to my peanut butter disaster last year. You know how every American says that peanut butter is so good and they have those peanut butter and jelly sandwiches? Guess what – they’re lying! Peanut butter is just SO gross! And yes, coming to that conclusion, is it any wonder that I’m skeptical about pumpkins?

When I was over there, I actually bought two cans of pumpkin because I really, really wanted to give it a shot. Guess what was still standing in my cupboard when I left? Well, last week I got the chance to make up for that missed experience because my roommate brought home a hokkaido pumpkin from it’s natural habitat somewhere in the middle of Bavaria. So I looked up my pumpkin recipes. Pumpkin scones, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin cake – well, none of that is realizable right now since our oven’s still not really functioning. So if anyone wants me baking again – provide me with an oven (I also do cooking at friend’s places, you don’t need to buy me one)!

Finally I went with soup, so I looked up a couple of recipes and stumbled across one for roasted pumpkin soup. Yes, our oven doesn’t really work so I can’t really tell you how much time the pumpkin has to stay in the oven but I’ll blindly rely on the original recipe for that. It took me about an hour (with an oven that can’t really reach the higher degree ranges though). Here it comes!

Roasted Pumpkin Soup
idea adapted from Rachel Eats

 ca. 1kg of hokkaido pumpkin
dried rosemary
ca. 4 tablespoons of olive oil
400ml of calf/beef broth
400ml water
200ml heavy cream
salt

First step: Preheat the oven to 200°C. Quarter the hokkaido pumpkin and place it on a baking sheet lined with baking parchment. Drizzle the olive oil on top, distribute with a small spoon or a brush. Sprinkle the rosemary on top – you don’t want to add too much, but just a pinch per quarter evenly distributed. Put the baking tray into the oven and let it work its magic for ca. 45mins. It should smell really fragrant but be watchful to not burn the pumpkin (decrease the heat in that case).

Second step: Before you take out the pieces, combine the water and broth in a large pot and heat it up to a simmer. Cut the pumpkin into smaller pieces (you can eat the skin of a hokkaido pumpkin (or so I was told)!) and throw into the simmering broth. Let it simmer for about 20 minutes and try to cover as much of the pumpkin as possible (especially the larger pieces) with liquid.

Third step: Use a hand mixer to shred the pumpkin and incorporate everything into one smooth soup. Add the heavy cream and use the hand mixer again for a few seconds to make the soup a little bit creamier. Add a pinch of salt to liking and serve immediately with a little bit of bread on the side.

In case you have leftovers – as I do – just heat them up the next day with a little bit of additional water and let it simmer for 3-4 minutes before serving.

Responses

  1. Oh I used to hate pumpkins back in the day… until I realized how much I love pumpkin cake. (Almost my favorite!) And it’s such a surprise to see you dislike peanut butter too – sometimes I like it with jam, but it depends on the jam. But everybody else I know loves it!

  2. I really like this soup, so maybe I still have the potential to become a pumpkin fan. Since our oven is broken down, I can’t really experiment with cake right now, but I’ll keep it in the back of my mind. Do you have a good recipe (btw really cake or pie?)?

    Eating peanut butter is just so… I don’t even wanna think about it! I remember how it sticks to your teeth and has that dry taste. No, really not for me!


Leave a Reply

Categories

