Posted by: Anja | October 7, 2011

Cranberry Yogurt Pancakes

I have to admit that after my last recipe that was _really_ healthy, things kind of went down for me in the healthy section. I’m just not in the mood, sorry! Also, to eat healthy, I’d have to go out and buy groceries… I’m just so lazy right now! But I’ll go this afternoon, promise! Until I gather more healthy ingredients, you have to cope with me updating this blog with (kind of) baked goods – pancakes and scones. The scones are in the oven right now, so I still have to determine whether they are worth presenting here, but the pancake recipe I discovered is definitely worth mentioning.

I ran out on milk two days ago and I was, surprise!, too lazy to get new milk. Still, I was in the mood for pancakes but couldn’t make my normal pancake recipe. So I searched the internet for a yogurt pancake recipe, because I still had some vanilla yogurt. I stumbled across a very simple recipe which nevertheless sounded promising so I just went for it. Through a rather large amount of baking powder and some changes to the original recipe, I managed to make them really fluffy even with yogurt. I’d recommend using vanilla yogurt or natural yogurt (increasing the sugar amount slightly or adding some vanilla extract). The original recipe speculates about using flavored yogurt but I think it would be… weird. Especially if you combine it with some other ingredients like the cranberries I used.

Cranberry Yogurt Pancakes
idea adapted from Taste of Home

 120g flour
1.5 teaspoons of baking powder
1 tablespoon of sugar
1 egg
250g yogurt (plain or vanilla)
30ml water
50g dried cranberries
opt.: 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract (in case of plain yogurt)

First step: Heat a small pan to medium-high heat. Combine the flour, baking powder, sugar, yogurt, water and cranberries in a big bowl. Separate the egg and add the egg yolk and whisk into the mixture until you have a homogeneous mass. Whip the egg white until stiff and spoon carefully into the batter.

Second step: Add a little bit of butter to the pan and pour one ladle of batter into the butter so that the pancake won’t stick to the pan. Wait until it’s stocked, then flip it around. Don’t let it burn! Repeat for the whole batter and enjoy warm and with maple syrup! :)

Responses

  1. Ohhh when you talk about health like this, it makes me feel bad about looking at the delicious french toast I am eating right now. XD

    By the way, I think that anything baked or sweet that has yogurt in it tastes great with lemon yogurt! (But it’s the only flavored yogurt that works.)

  2. Well, to be precise, vanilla yogurt is also flavored… But you’re right, I can see that working. :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

