Posted by: Anja | July 18, 2011

Raisin and Walnut Biscotti

Baking time! The feeling that I actually really want to bake something right at this moment comes over me from time to time and thank God, I’m prepared for many recipes out of habit. For example pancakes or crêpes ingredients are something that I keep in my cupboards at all times. I seriously can’t live without my baking powder, flour, eggs, butter and milk. When I was in the supermarket the last time, I actually discovered some dried fruits and nuts, so when I got the baking feeling this time around, I could do something a little bit more fancy: Biscotti!

Yes, I’m in Italy right now so it is only right that I bake some biscotti, which is actually the Italian version of a cookie. At least the ingredients are very similar to a cookie, the creation process differs a little bit. Biscotti are eaten with a nice cup of tea or coffee in the early afternoon – since I got that itch for baking at lunch, they were actually my lunch. I know, I know, not really healthy, but I simply was in the mood for it and I think it’s allowed to slip from time to time. :)

Raisin and Walnut Biscotti
idea adapted from Apple & Spice

 40g butter
150g flour
70g sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract or 1 package of vanilla sugar
1 egg
1/2 hand full of raisins
1/2  hand full of walnuts

First step: Preheat your oven to 180°C (350°F). Sift together the sugar and flour and add the butter in small flocks. Use your hands to incorporate the butter completely. Add the baking powder and vanilla flavor of your choice and stir to combine. Add the egg and use a spoon to stir everything together.

Second step: Chop the walnuts into small pieces. Add together with the raisins to the dough and knead gently to incorporate. Line a baking tray with parchment. Form the dough into a log of about 30*8cm (10*3 inches). It should have a thickness of about 1-1.5cm (1/2 inch). Put into the oven for 25 minutes, then retrieve and let cool down for about 10 minutes. Decrease the temperature to 150°C (300°F).

Third step: Cut the log into 1cm (1/2 inch) wide stripes and turn them so that one of the cut sides is down and the other one is up. Put them into the oven for 10 minutes, then turn the pieces around to the other cut side and put them into the oven for another 10 minutes. The biscotti should be slightly golden on the cut sides when you take them out of the oven and a little darker on the outside.

Enjoy as already mentioned with a nice cup of tea or coffee or even milk. :)

Leave a Reply

Categories

