Posted by: Anja | June 16, 2011

Marbled Muffins

As prologue the usual “I’m sorry that I didn’t write, I had too much on my plate but I swear that I’ll be better in the future…”.

That done, let’s move on to the important things in life: Muffins! I used to make these muffins years ago before I got into healthy food and last week a friend of mine asked me to make them again. Knowing that in my future there’ll be a lot of warnings by my own conscience if I bake these for myself, I jumped at the chance to bake them as they were for someone else. I just ate them out of necessity.

These muffins are basically a rich, marbled cake as common in Germany in muffin form. I actually checked my ingredients list for both cake and muffins and they contain exactly the same ingredients in nearly the same amounts. Except that the cake is a little bit more dense. Also, the recipe for the marble muffins is very simple and I often used it as a base for simple dark chocolate chip muffins. Still, just reading the ingredient list makes warning bells ring in my head. I guess I have to come up with a more healthy version on my own. Until then I recommend these as delightful sin that you shouldn’t excessively eat. ;)

Marbled Muffins
idea adapted from ElkJoes Muffinparadies

240g butter
200g + 20g sugar
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
pinch of salt
4 eggs
320g flour
4 teaspoons of baking powder
50ml + 40ml milk
20g cocoa

First step: Preheat your oven to 190°C. Melt the butter in a small pot over medium heat, then combine it with 200g sugar and the vanilla extract in a large bowl. Add the flour, baking powder and salt and stir to roughly combine everything. Add 50ml milk and the eggs and whisk to combine everything smoothly.

Second step: Prepare your muffin forms by using little paper cups or brushing the form with butter. Spoon the batter into the forms as to fill them up to the (invisible) 2/3 mark. Now add the cocoa, 40ml milk and 20g sugar to the remaining better and whisk again to make the batter smooth again.

Third step: Spoon the dark batter evenly distributed on top of your white batter. In the end, the cups should be 4/5 full. As there is a lot of baking powder in the mixture, you’ll have to take into consideration that they will grow quite a bit. Use a fork to carefully mix the the white and dark batter by simply swirling it through the cup once or twice. Put the muffins into the oven for about 20-25 minutes.

Fourth step: The muffins are done when the white parts are slightly brown. You can also test whether they are done by slightly pressing against the top of one muffin, it shouldn’t stick, but it shouldn’t be hard either. Let them cool down 10-15 minutes before you take them out of the forms and serve them.

These muffins are really tasty but calorie bombs. Still, with a glass of milk they are a treat. :)

Responses

  1. Yay, it’s baking time again :) Reminds me of buying a new oven soon, but Sevi is broke again ;)


Leave a Reply

Categories

