Posted by: Anja | November 18, 2010

Banana Pancakes


… are awesome! And you can actually call them banana pancakes, because the banana is also inside the pancake and not only placed and top as displayed in the picture above. This was actually the first banana recipe, were I really genuinely liked the idea of mashed bananas inside something baked. So far those recipes have always come out too sweet for my taste, which means a lot since I really have a sweet tooth.

Well, how did I come up with banana pancakes? I got my first shot at American pancakes a couple of weeks back, but somehow they didn’t quite convince me. If I remember correctly, I’ve made so much new recipes since that I can’t really keep up with all the things that I’ve made, they were plain pancakes and I ate them with maple syrup. Well, nothing special there. What’s special about today’s recipe? The bananas! It just gives the pancakes a certain kick, which I really liked.

Banana Pancakes
idea adapted from Annie’s Eats

90g flour
1 tablespoon of sugar
pinch of salt
1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder
1/2 banana
1 large egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons of butter + additional butter for greasing the pan
125ml milk

First step: Melt the butter in the pan that you use for making pancakes. In a bowl, mash the 1/2 banana with a fork. Add the butter and vanilla extract and use the fork to incorporate. Separately, mix together the flour, salt, sugar and baking powder.

Second step: Heat your pan to medium-high heat. Crack open the egg and mix it together with the banana mixture. When incorporated, pour the mixture together with the milk into the flour mixture and whisk to combine everything smoothly.

Third step: Use 1/3 tablespoon of butter to grease the pan per pancake. Wait until the butter is melted and try to keep the butter in the middle of the pan for the next step. Drop one ladle of batter into the butter and turn the pan slightly to spread the batter a bit more as the dough is rather compact until you have a pancake of about 15cm in diameter. It will puff up after about two minutes, then it takes approximately another one to two minutes for the top of the pancake to stock. Once stocked, turn the pancake (it should be a golden brown at the bottom) and bake for another two minutes. Repeat until all the batter is used.

Fourth step: Serve immediately with banana slices and/or maple syrup. The recipe here makes enough batter for four pancakes.

Responses

  1. Okay, I think I officially believe in telepathy now: I spent this morning making… banana pancakes. O.o

    • Did you use the same recipe or what ingredients did you use? :)
      How can you be surprised that we both make the same things? We both have exceptional taste! :P

  2. This looks really good:)

    • Tack så mycket, Biberchen!
      I remember the pancakes you made for Nina and me when we visited you. At that point it was totally new to me that you could put melted butter in pancakes! And it was so awesome that you could flip them! :D

  3. I’ve made several banana bread recipes and I always come back on this page for this one. Great recipe! Good way to use up old bananas! I also want to share this recipe: Bananas Flambeed with Rum and Soft Caramel, its very easy to prepare. Try it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

