Posted by: Anja | November 4, 2010

Cinnamon Bun in a Muffin!

I made these yesterday and aren’t they really, really cute? This is a recipe I’ve been looking forward to making for two days, as I didn’t have time before yesterday to get started on them. It was worth the waiting! Basically, it is a cinnamon yeast muffin, that is just combined in a really uncommon way, which makes it look this funny. Nevertheless, the taste is awesome. As the title indicates it tastes a lot like a cinnamon bun – at least the classic version of a cinnamon bun that is also made with yeast and not my buttermilk cinnamon bun version.

Making them actually takes some time and as I currently work at home, that’s not a problem for me. I noticed during the last couple of weeks, where I used yeast more and more that there actually are differences in the way yeast rises due to different kinds of flour. I usually use plain unbleached all-purpose flour from a supermarket chain,  but when I went to the Farmer’s market the last time, I got me some all-purpose flour from there. And the difference is huge! Normally, for the dough to rise it tasks like 1.5 times the amount of time as described in the original recipe, but with the Farmer’s market dough, I could actually follow the recipe to the line. And I think it tastes different – better. I guess since I’ll be going there this weekend again, I’ll pick up some more flour and continue my study. :)

Cinnamon Raisin Muffins
idea adapted from Joy the Baker

dough:
360g flour
2 teaspoons of salt
1 1/2 teaspoons of active dry yeast
2 tablespoons of olive oil
230ml warm water

dusting:
2 tablespoons of flour
80g sugar
1-2 teaspoons of cinnamon

filling:
90g butter
80g sugar
120g brown sugar
2 tablespoons of flour
1/2 teaspoon of cornstarch
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
optional: 5 tablespoons of raisins

First step: In a large bowl, combine the flour, yeast and salt. Add the water and the olive oil, using a spoon to combine everything. When the water has been incorporated by the flour, use your hands to make the dough come together and knead it into a ball. If the dough doesn’t come together completely, just use some more waters, but it shouldn’t be sticky but pretty firm. Oil your bowl lightly (remove the dough in the meantime) and put the dough ball back in, oiling it slightly from all sides. Cover the bowl with plastic and let rise until double the size, approximately 2-3 hours.

Second step: With your palm, press down the dough and form into a ball again, don’t knead! Let rise for another 20-30 minutes. Rip small pieces of the dough out of the dough ball and roll them into small balls. The size of these balls should be 1-2cm in diameter. Set aside. Preheat your oven to 175°C.

Third step: Mix together the ingredients for dusting and pour them on top of your dough balls. Use your hands to throw the balls around a bit for them to get covered completely in dusting. Set aside.

Fourth step: Combine the different kinds of sugar, flour, cornstarch and cinnamon for your filling. Use your hands to knead in the butter until fully incorporated. Optionally add raisins.

Fifth step: Oil or butter a muffin form with twelve muffin cups. Per cup proceed as follows: Use 4-5 dough balls for the bottom layer of the muffin. Add 1/2-1 teaspoon of filling, then add another 4-5 dough balls on top and another layer of filling. Altogether, the muffin should be slightly higher than the muffin cup. Put the muffin form into the oven for 12-15 minutes. For me, it took 14 minutes. Let them cool down completely or until slightly warm, then enjoy!

Responses

  1. Today I made these!! boy, where they wickedly good!

    http://www.bake5.wordpress.com

    • Thanks for your comment! Yeah, they were really nice. I like your idea of putting them in paper cups, I’m probably going to do that the next time, when I have to transport them again. Without, pull-apart became a bit of a fall-apart… Nevertheless awesome taste! ;)


Leave a Reply

Categories

