Posted by: Anja | October 17, 2010

Double Chocolate in White

Chocolate cookies have always been a weakness of me. I discovered a really awesome chocolate chip cookie recipe two years back during my stay in Stockholm and from then on I’ve been basically hooked to these cookies, varying them according to whatever I was feeling like: white, milk or bittersweet. Well, sometimes things have to change and just because I’ve added another chocolate chip cookie recipe to my repertoire doesn’t mean that I’ll forget my previous successes.

Well, I really felt like trying something new and I really felt like white chocolate. So I decided on double chocolate cookies, basically cocoa cookies with white chocolate chips inside. Awesome! Though you have to be really careful while eating these because of the high risk of a sugar coma. Seriously! Didn’t stop me from eating five on one day though. But I’m a rather experienced cookie consumer. ;)

White Chocolate Chunk Cookies
idea adapted from Annie’s Eats

160g flour
1 teaspoon of baking powder
pinch of salt
80g of cocoa powder (dutch-processed)
110g white sugar
100g brown sugar
120g butter, cold
1 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract
80ml milk
120g white chocolate chips or chopped white chocolate

First step: Combine the flour, baking powder, sugar, salt and cocoa powder in a large bowl. Cut the cold butter into small pieces and add to the flour mixture. Use your hands to incorporate the butter into the flour mixture until it resembles coarse brown flour and sou can’t find large butter flakes anymore.

Second step: Add the vanilla extract and the milk. Combine everything with a spoon until it is one smooth dough. Add the chocolate chips and use the spoon again to spread them evenly in the dough. Refrigerate the dough for 15 minutes.

Third step: Preheat the oven to 150°C. Prepare a cookie sheet with canola oil or baking powder. Per cookie, use 3 teaspoons of dough. Drop the dollops onto your cookie sheet and press down slightly. They should all have approximately the same size. Put into the oven for 20-25 minutes.

Fourth step: Take out of the oven and let cool down. I love eating chocolate cookies warm, but they are really delicious cold as well, it’s completely up to you!

Responses

  1. yummy! Those cookies are truly indulging. I just made white chocolate cookies and it ended up just great. I will also try your version of it and add some cream cheese frosting to make it yummier.

  2. Yum! This recipe is awesome plus the chocolate-y flavor of it makes me more hungry. This is truly indulging. My kids will surely love this one.


Leave a Reply

Categories

