Posted by: Anja | October 14, 2010

Continuing with Sweet & Savory Dishes

Crêpes are so awesome! When I was younger, I often went by train and I had to switch trains at Frankfurt airport. There was a little crêpes place and I never could resist just getting a fresh crêpe with Nutella. Anyway, I actually never came around to making them at home. Pancakes, or better: the German version of a pancake, are my most favorite dish ever and as I’ve learned to make that dish directly when I moved out at my parents place, I always had some kind of crêpe (sweeter and thicker though) to combine with Nutella. So the crêpes that I made for this dish here are actually the first french pancakes that I’ve ever made in my life, though probably not the last.

As I’ve told you in my last post, I really like combining the sweet and the savory. Crêpes to my mind always count as sweet even though they don’t even have sugar as an ingredient. Still, I don’t think of them as a savory dish. In combination with the crêpes, I made a broccoli and cheese soufflé, which I really liked though I would spice it up a bit more next time. Maybe more black pepper, salt and probably some fresh herbs like basil.

Crêpes with Broccoli and Cheese Soufflé
idea adapted from Technicolor Kitchen

crêpes:
125g flour
pinch of salt
1 egg
1 egg yolk
300ml milk
butter

filling:
45g butter
45g flour
300ml milk
100g mozzarella
40g + 20g gruyère or parmesan
black pepper
salt
100g broccoli florets
4 eggs
optionally: fresh herbs

First step: In a small pot, heat the butter to medium-high heat. When the butter is heated, add the flour and whisk to combine. Take off the stove and whisk in the milk slowly until fully integrated. Add the different kinds of cheese (100g mozzarella + 40g other cheese) and put back onto the stove. Stir to combine everything smoothly and continue to do stir until the cheese is completely dissolved. Take off the stove.

Second step: At the same time, bring water in another small pot to a boil. When boiling, add a bit salt and blanch the broccoli for 3-4 minutes. Drain and put aside.

Third step: In a large bowl, combine the flour, a pinch of salt, the milk, the egg and egg yolk. Whisk to incorporate completely. Heat a medium-sized pan to medium-high heat. Melt a small piece of butter in the pan, then add part of the batter. You should always add enough to cover the bottom of the pan completely but not more as crêpes generally are rather thin. Turn them when slightly brown on the bottom, then take off the oven when done. Continue to create crêpes until you run out of the batter. I had enough batter for six crêpes, but I used a rather large pan. Put the resulting crêpes aside.

Fourth step: Preheat your oven to 200°C. Separate four eggs and add the yolks to the cheese mixture. Add the pepper, salt and, if using, the herbs. Whisk to combine. Add the broccoli and use a spoon to integrate into the cheese mixture. Beat the egg whites separately until they peak softly, then spoon into the cheese mixture.

Fifth step: Oil a cookie sheet, I used canola oil for that, and then start spooning the filling into the center of the first crêpe. When you think that it has enough filling, flap the outer sides on top of the filling and put the crêpe on the cookie sheet. Continue to do that until all of your crêpes have been filled.  Grate the left-over 20g of your parmesan or gruyère and sprinkle on top of your crêpes. Put into the oven for ca. 15 minutes, check on them from time to time and take out off the oven when they get slightly brown on top and turn a darker brown on the bottom. The cheese on top of them should completely melt. Eat either warm or cooled down.

Note: I really liked the crêpes out of the refrigerator and slightly warmed (less than room temperature, but a bit warmer than refrigerator temperature) the next day. Of course, they were really good warm as well, else I wouldn’t show them here, but I was kind of surprised that it was that good even cooled down. :)

Leave a Reply

Categories

