Posted by: Anja | October 12, 2010

When baking and cooking come together…

I like to bake. And I like to cook. So I really love recipe’s combining both things together. That means savory tarts, puff pastry dishes with mushroom or feta fillings, self-made ravioli etc. Though it’s often a lot more work than either baking or cooking, I often find it also more rewarding. This week’s first blog entry is exactly of that kind of dish. It takes a lot of time, but it’s worth the effort in the end. Just don’t be hungry when starting the dish, but prepare it two hours in advance. ;)

Currently I’m checking through a lot of blogs to find good recipes and my backlog increases rapidly. I think I’ve currently bookmarked 1000 recipes that I want to make sometime. And the number still increases. It’s a bit depressing to know that there’s so much I want to try, but I don’t have the time nor the money or the stomach to try every one of them. On the other hand, I can just enter a random ingredient and 10 recipes will pop up from which I can chose. That’s how I re-stumbled across this quiche recipe. I had some left-over mushrooms, bacon and broccoli, so it was perfect for me. The result tasted really good, but I’d decrease the amount of butter in the tart shell, because it was a bit too buttery for my taste. Nevertheless this is a recipe, that I’d definitively recommend.

Broccoli, Mushroom and Bacon Quiche
idea adapted from Annie’s Eats

crust:
150g flour
1 tablespoon of sugar
pinch of salt
8 tablespoons of butter
ice cold water

filling:
3 eggs
250ml milk
6 strips of bacon
1/2 yellow onion
100g mushrooms
100g broccoli florets
pinch of salt
pinch of black pepper
70g gruyere cheese
1 tablespoon of flour
1 tablespoon of olive oil

First step: Cut the mushrooms, onion and broccoli florets into mouth-sized pieces. Heat a large pan to medium-high heat. Bring water in a small pot to a boil. Brown the bacon in the pan and drain on a paper towel afterwards, put aside. In the meantime, blanch the broccoli for 3-4 minutes. Drain and put aside. In the large pan, heat the olive oil and when heated, add the onion and the mushrooms. Let brown and stir from time to time until the mushrooms are done, the onions should then be glassy as well. Put aside and turn off the stove.

Second step: Preheat the oven to 225°C. Combine the flour, sugar and salt for the crust. Cut the butter into small pieces and use your hands or a machine to integrate the butter into the other ingredients. If you want a less buttery flavor, reduce the amount of butter to six tablespoons. When everything is integrated, the dough should feel like coarse and sticky flour. Use cold water to bring the dough together. Start with two tablespoons, then iteratively add more water until the dough comes together and forms a non-sticky ball.

Third step: Roll out your dough and grease a 23cm tart pan. Put your dough into the form, remove extra dough that peeks over the top of the tart shell to have a nice quiche form in the end. Press aluminum foil on top of the dough so that every part of it is covered. Usually you should put weight on top of the foil, for example dried beans, but I usually do without that even though that’s probably not optimal. So if you have tart weights, use them here! Put into the oven for 5 minutes.

Fourth step: Remove the foil and weights and bake another 5-7 minutes. In the meantime, grate your cheese. Afterwards, mix together the eggs, milk and flour and combine smoothly. Cut your bacon stripes into small pieces and add to the egg mixture together with the onion, broccoli and mushrooms. Add the salt and pepper and stir to combine.

Fifth step: Retrieve your quiche from the oven and reduce the heat to 160°C. Add the cheese to the egg mixture and stir again to combine. Pour the filling into your quiche shell and place inside your oven again. Let bake for 35-45 minutes, until it stocks (it might still be a bit wobbly in the middle, but shouldn’t be liquid). Retrieve the quiche from the oven and let cool down ca. 15 minutes before serving. Enjoy!

Actually, I even liked it better re-heated the next day, but I totally understand that it’s hard to resist a fresh out-of-the-oven quiche. :)

I also used more ingredients than I put into this recipe here, but it was too much so that the filling didn’t actually fit into the quiche shell that’s why I adjusted the amounts here. So don’t be afraid if you don’t have as much broccoli and mushrooms as shown in the picture.

Leave a Reply

Categories

