Posted by: Anja | September 30, 2010

Reflection on Waffles

I bought a waffle maker! If you’re talking to me from time to time, you’ll probably know that, since I’ve been running around like crazy, telling everyone that I bought a waffle maker. Waffles are great! I used to eat them only in winter and really rarely, because they are just so expensive if you by them on the market or somewhere similar, but having an own waffle maker resolves all these points to not eat waffles. So I’ve been making waffles a lot in the last two weeks.

This Monday, I made chocolate waffles with chocolate chips. Bad overkill! I’m to greedy and I ate six waffles directly – which leads me the conclusion that waffles are good, but you shouldn’t overdo it. Anyway, if you’re not as greedy as I am and can control yourself better, than there is nothing holding you back from creating your own waffles. I’ve done three kinds so far, chocolate chip chocolate, normal chocolate chip and cinnamon waffles. While I thought the chocolate chip chocolate waffles were a bit dry, I really liked the other two recipes. As a result, on today’s agenda are the cinnamon waffles. The original recipe serves sautéed apples to go with the waffles, but that would have been an overkill as I made them just for myself, so I decided to use fresh apples and bananas to go with the waffles instead, which worked out really well too.

Cinnamon Waffles
idea adapted from Annie’s Eats

115g butter
210g flour
1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder
1 teaspoon of baking soda
70g sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
350ml buttermilk
3 eggs

First step: Melt the butter on medium heat. Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar, cinnamon and salt in a large bowl. Separate the eggs, catching the egg whites in a small bowl and adding the yolks together with the vanilla extract to the flour mixture. Stir to combine.

Second step: When the butter is melted, add it to the flour mixture. Pour the buttermilk in while whisking to combine everything. Whisk the egg whites in the separate bowl until they become fluffy. Spoon the whites under the dough and combine everything smoothly with the spoon.

Third step: Preheat your waffle iron, spray with cooking spray (I use canola oil) and bake the waffles, which takes about five minutes on medium-high heat per waffle. To keep them warm, heat your oven to 90°C and put a plate inside. Whenever a waffle is done (it should be a golden brown then), just put the waffle onto the plate. This is especially useful if you want to eat together with other people.

See, very simple, isn’t it? I don’t get why you have to pay 3€ on the market for something so easy to make as waffles. Nevertheless, waffles are always a treat, so don’t miss out on them! :D

Leave a Reply

Categories

