Posted by: Anja | September 23, 2010

Honey biscuits

I’ve told you about my first experiment with yeast which I did last Friday/Saturday. After that I’ve spent the week-end away, but when I came back Sunday evening, I had to make another yeast recipe, because I was simply hooked and wanted to see whether the success of my first recipe had been an exception or whether I could actually (successfully) create something with yeast. That’s the reason why I made these honey biscuits. Actually, they are pretty healthy with no sugar at all and only two tablespoons of butter on 10 biscuits. Also, they are pretty low maintenance, the yeast will take over most of the work (except of course putting everything together and kneading, but that’s fun!).

These biscuits are rather sweet and a bit sticky, but I loved them. Especially in combination with strawberry or cherry jam, they are a blast. I made ten biscuits Sunday evening, eating one already that day and seven on Monday. Seven!!! I had the strength to give two away, which I think was really nice of me. I’ll probably make them again soon, because they are a good replacement for bread, which is really non-existent here anyway. I guess they’d be perfect as good-morning breakfast with a couple of friends over so that you don’t eat them all alone. Even though that wouldn’t be such a hardship! ;)

Honey Yeast Rolls
idea adapted from Annie’s Eats

biscuits:
2 1/4 teaspoon of yeast
50ml honey
30ml canola oil
1 1/4 teaspoons of salt
480g flour
1 egg
200ml warm water
canola/vegetable oil

glaze:
1 1/2 tablespoons of butter
2 tablespoons of honey

First step: Combine the yeast, salt and flour in a bowl. Lightly beat the egg in a cup or small bowl and stir into the flour mixture. Add the canola oil and honey and whisk. Add the water, using a spoon to integrate everything. Knead the dough for about five minutes. Oil a large bowl and put the dough into it. Put plastic foil on top and let stand for two hours.

Second step: Knead the dough on a lightly floured surface for about 30 seconds, then put it back into the bowl. Cover the bowl with a slightly moist towel and let stand for ten minutes. In the meantime, prepare a 25cm spring form with the oil. Separate the dough into 10-12 equal pieces and put them into the form, next to each other. Cover the form with the towel and let stand for 20 minutes.

Third step: Preheat the oven to 200°C. Melt the butter in a small pan over medium heat. Use a brush or spoon to distribute it evenly on top of the biscuits. Spread the honey on top as well. Put the form into the oven for 15-20 minutes, the rolls should be slightly brown on top when you retrieve them. Enjoy when they are still a bit warm or cooled down!

As I’ve mentioned above, I really liked this recipe because, even though it takes some time, it’s really not much effort. And if you’re not as greedy as I am, these biscuits will actually be a good breakfast for 2-3 days in combination with spreads like jam, cream cheese etc.

The original recipe calls for bread flour instead of normal flour, but I didn’t have that at home, so I just switched to all-purpose flour. I guess it would be interesting to try the recipe with bread flour and see whether the biscuits taste differently or even if the yeast affects the flour in a different way.

Leave a Reply

Categories

