Posted by: Anja | September 14, 2010

Food, food and some more food!

I spent most of my day yesterday searching for recipes in a new blog that I had just discovered this day. Altogether, I have now another 70 or 80 recipes that I seriously need to do soon, because most of them just look so awesome! It really made me hungry on the spot, but as I’ve been eating the whole week-end, BBQs and handing out free food is one of the most common activities of Americans, I simply couldn’t. Nevertheless, I’ve outlined a plan of which creations I’m going to make in the next two weeks. By the way, I still need some people, who test whatever I bake or cook, so just message me, if you’re up for some experiments. I prefer people that own either a waffle iron or tarte/pie/loaf baking forms. ;)

As there is no elegant way to switching topics from asking for waffle irons to today’s recipe, I’ll just make a complete topic turnaround. Today’s recipe is all about mozzarella and tomatoes pasta! Boring? Well, if it would be, I wouldn’t put it here. The trick with this recipe is combining the mozzarella and tomatoes with walnuts that have been browned in olive oil. Not so boring anymore? It sounds a bit weird, but tastes really good and it’s something I actually never thought about doing before. But I guess, since I’ve got still some walnuts and mozzarella left over, it won’t be the last time that I made this recipe!

Mozzarella, Tomato and Walnut Pasta

10 small tomatoes
50g mozzarella
30g walnuts
1 tablespoon fresh basil
2 tablespoons olive oil
black pepper
salt
150g pasta, I used spaghetti

First step: Heat up water in a large pot to a boil. Salt the water and add the spaghetti. I usually use spaghetti that are done in 8-10 minutes, because it leaves you with enough time to prepare everything else in between. Heat the olive oil in a medium-sized skillet to medium heat.

Second step: Chop the walnuts and brown them in the olive oil, when heated, for about three minutes. Chop the basil and put aside. Chop the mozzarella and put aside as well. Add the tomatoes to the walnuts, when the three minutes are up. Your spaghetti should have 3-4 minutes left.

Third step: Drain the spaghetti and add them to your pan. Stir to combine. Add the mozzarella and stir again. Add the basil, pepper and salt and stir yet another time. Serve directly.

The dish is enough for one person, so if you want to feed more people, just add ingredients proportionally!

Leave a Reply

Categories

