Posted by: Anja | August 22, 2010

Far away from home…

… it becomes possible again for me to bake. The last couple of months, cakes have been an exception on this blog, because my oven just couldn’t heat up the way you need it to be heated when baking cakes. As a result, when I tried baking cakes, the inside of those cakes were always still raw while the outsides were brown. Which is really not good.

I resolved that problem by moving. Now, I’ve got an oven where I actually can’t read the temperature on the control, but it heats up really well. Right now my approach is to guess the temperature, but I have to get some more experience doing that as I currently use too much heat. That’s the reason why the cake is a bit too brown on the outside, it is actually supposed to be a light brown instead of a dark brown. Doesn’t change that it tastes awesome.

Currently I’m in a bit of a cinnamon mood. Risotto mood has passed and now I’m into sweets again. First thing I made using my new oven where cinnamon blueberry muffins, this cinnamon cake then has been used to verify the powers of the oven. I’m just so happy that I can bake during the next months. :)

Cinnamon Swirl Buttermilk Pound Cake
idea adapted from eat me, delicious

swirl:
60g flour
70g sugar (if you want the swirl in a distinct color, use brown sugar)
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
pinch of salt
2 tablespoons butter

cake:
250g flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
pinch of salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
230g butter
400g sugar
3 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
240ml buttermilk

First step: Melt the butter on low heat for the swirl ingredients and mix the other swirl ingredients together. Add the butter, combine with a spoon and put aside. Preheat the oven to 150°C.

Second step: Grease a bundt form and set aside. Melt the butter for the dough on low heat. In a bowl, combine the eggs, the vanilla extract and the sugar. Add the butter when melted and whisk together.

Third step: Combine the salt, flour, cinnamon and baking powder separately. Integrate them into the butter mixture together with the buttermilk in alteration. Whisk to remove all clumps.

Fourth step: Fill half of the dough into the bundt form. Sprinkle the swirl mixture on top, then add the rest of the dough. Put into the oven for circa 60-70 minutes, then retrieve it and let it set for a couple of minutes before turning it around. Enjoy!

I actually made a blueberry and cinnamon sauce to go with the cake, which was good in combination with the cake, but really not good away from it. That recipe is not yet fit for publication. ;)

Leave a Reply

Categories

