Posted by: Anja | July 13, 2010

A new kind of pesto…

… is what I went for last week when I cooked for my friends. I made three courses, so I decided on pesto in order to keep the time between the courses as short as possible to avoid their complaints of being hungry. The first dish I served was the scrambled eggs which scampi dish that I dearly love. It seemed to please my guests as well. :)

I had this pesto prepared before I made the first dish, maybe 1-2 hours earlier. If you decide on making this recipe, I’d strongly advise you to use all of the pesto right away and not store any in the refrigerator, because I don’t think that it keeps for long. Anyway, I really thought it a nice addition to my different pesto recipes and it was one that – finally – used some garlic again. I started to miss those stinkers. ;)

Pea, Parsley and Walnut Pesto
idea adapted from Pink of Perfection

2 small coffee cups of frozen peas
40g parsley
50g walnuts
2/3 of a small coffee cup filled with grated parmesan
3 small garlic cloves
2/3 of a small coffee cup filled with olive oil
water

First step: Bring water in a small pot to a boil. Add the peas and let them cook for two minutes. Take them off the oven and sieve them. Put into a bowl. Add one tablespoon of water.

Second step: In parallel, toast the walnuts in a small pan over medium heat. Add the walnuts to the peas when you’re finished toasting them.

Third step: Peel the skin off the garlic cloves and add them to the mix. Add the parsley. Use a hand mixer to hack everything to small pieces.

Fourth step: Add the olive oil and the parmesan in alternation. Mix everything until no large pieces remain. Either use immediately or later on the same day.

For serving you can either use whole wheat spaghetti as suggested in the original recipe, which I found quite nice, or normal spaghetti. Also, when you make the spaghetti, add another cup of peas at the end of the cooking time to their water and let them cook. This gives you some more green in your served dish and it makes it look fresher.

This pesto makes enough for about 750g of pasta.

Leave a Reply

Categories

