Posted by: Anja | July 1, 2010

Muffin update!

I know that my muffin recipes are really good, I feel very modest today ;), nevertheless, I experiment with them as well. Adding ingredients here and there, adjusting the sugar level etc. This time I tried to go without buttermilk, replacing it with milk and adjusting the amount of flour that I used. Buttermilk has a quite distinctive taste and I came to use it in nearly all of my muffin recipes which is the reason why I had to try something different this time. Additionally, I also decided against using butter as I often get the complaint that the muffins that I make are too heavy (I can’t really agree with that, obviously). As a result, I switched to canola oil! For this time. ;)

Raspberry Walnut Muffins
idea adapted from Fresh from the Oven

150g yogurt
2 tablespoons milk
100ml canola oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
280g flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon lemon zest
100g light brown sugar
50g white sugar
2 large eggs
50g walnuts
125g unfrozen raspberries

First step: Chop the walnuts. Preheat the oven to 180°C.

Second step: Mix together the eggs, lemon zest, sugar and canola oil. Whisk everything together. Add the vanilla extract and the milk and whisk again.

Third step: In a separate bowl, combine the flour and baking powder and then slowly whisk them into the sugar mixture. Add the yogurt simultaneously to integrate everything smoothly. Now slowly spoon in the raspberries and walnuts, take care not to nick the raspberries or else your muffins will get red.

Fourth step: Prepare the muffin form with paper muffin cups or by buttering the cups. The batter is enough for exactly 12 muffins. Put into the oven for 25-35 minutes. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

