Posted by: Anja | June 13, 2010

I know that I’ve been a bit lazy concerning my writing here…

… which goes back to me having a stressful week preparing for a seminar that I held on Friday, which of course added some additional work to my usual work load. Well, that’s done and I have another month before the next seminar presentation is due. This time it’s even something interesting. ;)

I really hope that I can keep up with writing here even though I don’t think that many people read this. Still, having all my recipes stored in a blog makes it easier for my future me to find the good recipes. So: Hey future me, keep on writing! Reminds me of the episode in HIMYM where Ted and Barney write to their future selfs about not dating their ex-girlfriends. Didn’t really work out for them, did it? Message to future me: Forget about boyfriends, focus on food! Message number two to future me: Make these lemon muffins again some time!

Glazed Lemon Muffins
idea adapted from Raspberry Lemon Muffins

120g light brown sugar
80g sugar
zest of 3 small lemons
240g flour
2 1/2 tablespoons baking powder
pinch of salt
1 large egg
120g butter
200ml buttermilk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

juice of 2 small lemons
powdered sugar

First step: Melt the butter over low heat. Preheat the oven to 200°C.

Second step: Mix the lemon zest and the sugar together. Combine smoothly so that the sugar absorbs the liquid of the zest. Mix with the butter when melted. Add the egg. Add the vanilla extract.

Third step: Separately combine the flour, baking powder and salt. Add the flour mixture and the buttermilk step by step to the butter and sugar mixture. Whisk to combine. It should look like the dough in the picture.

Fourth step: Prepare a muffin form (12 normal forms) with paper cups or butter them. Fill in the dough, it should be enough for 12 muffins. Put into the oven for 30-35 minutes.

Fifth step: Retrieve from the oven and let cool for 30 minutes. Take the muffins out of the form. In a cup mix the lemon juice with the powdered sugar. I can’t say exactly how much sugar I used, but it is enough when the mixture becomes like glaze. Really helpful advice, I know. Well, it should be rather thick, but still liquid. Spread evenly on top of the muffins and let stand for another 30minutes, then the glaze should be okay. Enjoy!

As I got a couple of compliments on this recipe, note to future me: Don’t change it! And do the chocolate hazelnut cookies you did today as well sometime soon! They were awesome!

Leave a Reply

Categories

