Posted by: Anja | June 6, 2010

Muffins are everywhere!

Since our oven has been acting weird lately, I’m currently focusing my baking skills on muffins. Right before this week-end I made a new batch. Seriously: These are the best smelling muffins I’ve ever made! My roommate said it’s like apple strudel in muffin form. Well, it’s similar but what I really liked was the walnut taste and the light but savory flavor of maple syrup. I know that sounds cheesy, like something out of a book, but I can’t imagine a better wording. You just have to try them. You really have to, it’s not optional. Whoever reads this blog entry is bound to make this recipe. By law. Mine.

I don’t really remember for what, but a couple of months back I bought maple syrup. And I still had so much left and was so unnerved by the first half of the German soccer game vs. Bosnia that I got up and made up a new muffin recipe with maple syrup. That’s my way of coping with stress. ;)
So, this muffin combines walnuts with apples, which I think is a divine combination. Especially in a muffin. Together with the maple syrup. Seriously. Ahhhh! Awesome! I wish I could transfer the taste and smell via blog. Or maybe I don’t. Because as it was, I had 9 muffins out of a 12 muffin batch, which is a good share. Do I need to say that I really loved them?

Apple Walnut Maple Muffin

80g walnuts
200g flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 pinch of salt
1 large egg
90g butter
200ml milk
100ml maple syrup
3 tablespoons sugar
1 apple (preferably Granny Smith or a sour one)

First step: Chop the apple and the walnuts into small pieces. Not too small though. Handy bites. Melt the butter over low heat in a small pot. Preheat the oven to 200°C.

Second step: Combine the sugar with the flour, salt, and baking powder. Add the egg and the butter when melted. You can’t really whisk everything together at this point because there is not enough liquid, so either use a spoon or just barely whisk everything together.

Third step: Add the milk while whisking. Add the maple syrup while still whisking. Whisk a lot to resolve any clumps. The dough will be rather liquid in comparison to other muffin doughs.

Fourth step: Spoon in the apple and walnuts and combine everything thoroughly. Prepare a muffin form with 12 cups with paper forms or butter them. Put the dough into the forms. It should be enough dough for exactly 12 muffins. Put into the oven for 20-25 minutes, take out and enjoy when they’ve cooled down for ten minutes. Really, really enjoy!

Who knew that apples are that good in muffins? I’m actually thinking about doing lemon and apple muffins tomorrow. Should be a good combination, right? And no, I don’t eat only muffins. Actually I made button mushroom soup just yesterday but I forgot to take pictures. And I made a variation of the scampi risotto today. Still awesome as well. Especially if you spruce the dish with more butter and lemon. ;)

And a general tip from me during these times of constant rainfall is depicted on the right side. I thought the sign kind of cute. Because who would fall into the water like that, hmm?

Leave a Reply

Categories

