Posted by: Anja | May 28, 2010

Tomato soup…

… is something I always despised. I don’t like tomatoes. Alright, I like them in their natural, raw, form. But I don’t like ketchup and I’ve fought any kind of recipe with tomatoes in it until my coming of age. At that point I had to run a household and what’s easier to make then spaghetti bolognese? Well, there is not much… So I had to change tactics and embrace tomatoes. Sloooowly… I still don’t like anything where I can see tomatoes that have been cooked or hacked or anything. It’s just looks so gross! So I just use strained tomatoes and tomato paste.

I broke with this habit the last week-end due to my decision of going food-crazy. I overcame my fears and bought two cans of whole, but peeled, tomatoes. Well, I have to say it still does give me the chills… They just looked red and wobbly and not at all… well, nice. Still, I continued heroically, straining them, baking them and, finally, using the hand mixer to destroy their look. As you can see in the pictures, it worked! And it actually tasted good. Like tomatoes but not too strong so that it was alright with me. Though I have to say that I doubled the amount of heavy cream from the original recipe. I’m weak. But just when it comes to tomatoes. ;)

Tomato Cream Soup
idea adapted from smittenkitchen.com

2* a 850g tomato can
1 1/2 tablespoon brown sugar
60g butter
1 onion, medium-large in size
1 tablespoon tomato paste
200ml chicken stock
200ml heavy cream
cayenne pepper
salt
optional: 2 tablespoons red wine

First step: Preheat the oven to 220°C. Strain the liquid content of the cans through a sieve and into a bowl. Open the whole tomatoes with your hands and drain the liquid within them over the sieve into the same bowl as above. Get rid of the seeds. Put the tomatoes on a baking tray lined with parchment. Put the strained liquid aside.

Second step: Sprinkle the sugar on top of the tomatoes and put the tray into the oven for about 30 minutes. Take them off the oven and put aside.

Third step: Cut the onion into slices, they don’t need to be that small, as they will get hackled by the hand mixer. Heat a large pot to medium heat. Add the onion slices and the tomato paste. Stir to spread the paste evenly onto the onions. Stir from time to time for 8-10 minutes.

Fourth step: Add the flour and stir fast to spread evenly for 30 seconds. Then add the chicken stock, the baked tomatoes and the tomato liquid. Bring the soup to a boil and then reduce the heat again as to let the soup simmer for about 10 minutes.

Fifth step: Now use the hand mixer to get rid of all the pieces of tomatoes and onions. Add the heavy cream, the wine, if you are using any, and pepper and salt to taste. Let simmer for another 3 minutes, then serve the soup directly.

The recipe makes enough for about 4 persons. :)

Leave a Reply

Categories

