Posted by: Anja | May 24, 2010

I know it sounds weird…

but hey! Have you ever eaten pumpkin seeds on an orange muffin? Well, it’s weird, right? But good weird, not bad weird. :D

I love pumpkin seeds. Normally on corn buns, but you have to make exceptions from time to time. Like this time. As I already wrote in my last post, Pentecost has given me the opportunity to go a bit crazy. Not loony-bin crazy but food-productive crazy. I just wanted to make things that I normally wouldn’t make because some voice in my head tells me that this combination of flavors wouldn’t suit me. So I just ignored that voice. :D

Fortunately for me this seems to be a good decision as everything that I’m currently making in the kitchen turns out to be really good. I wonder if I should just apply that system in general…?

Orange Cream Cheese Muffins with Pumpkin Seeds
idea adapted from eat me, delicious

preparation:
1 medium egg white
80g pumpkin seeds
2 tablespoons + 1 teaspoon sugar

dough:
2 teaspoons of orange zest
1/2 orange, preferably biological
125 cream cheese, cold
240g flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
120g butter, cold
150g sugar
2 medium eggs
1 egg medium egg yolk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
30ml buttermilk

First step: Preheat the oven to 160°C. Mix together the pumpkin seeds, egg white and 1 tablespoon of sugar. Prepare an oven tray with baking parchment and spread the pumpkin seeds on top evenly. Sprinkle another tablespoon of sugar on top. Put the tray into the oven.

Second step: While you prepare the dough, take the tray out of the oven every 7-8 minutes and stir the seeds with a fork. When nearly 30 minutes have passed, retrieve the pumpkin seeds, sprinkle the left-over teaspoon of sugar on top and put into the oven for another 3 minutes. Retrieve from the oven and put aside. Increase the heat of the oven to 190°C.

Third step: Peel the half orange and put the orange into bowl. Add the orange zest. Use a hand mixer to puree the orange. Add the cream cheese slowly while still using the hand mixer. Now add the butter, which you should cut into small pieces before adding it.

Fourth step: In a separate bowl, combine the sugar and the eggs and the egg yolk. Whisk to combine. Now add the vanilla extract and whisk again. Add the orange mixture and mix until everything is smoothly combined.

Fifth step: In yet another bowl combine the flour and the baking powder. Now add this mixture to the rest of the dough slowly, continuously whisking while doing so. Add the buttermilk and stir to combine everything.

Sixth step: Prepare a muffin form with paper cups or brush it with butter. Fill the dough into the forms, it is enough for 12 muffins. Sprinkle the pumpkin seeds on top and put into the oven for 25-30 minutes. Check your oven from time to time, the muffins should be slightly browned on top. Eat when cooled down.

I hope you like this recipe though it’s a bit experimental. It really surprised me and I’ll definitely make these muffins again someday. What I really like about the recipe was the use of pumpkin seeds. They normally taste… well, kind of boring, right? But with the sugar crust, they are really a treat. Maybe I can use them to pimp other recipes as well. ;)

Responses

  1. I like your idea of applying the loony-bin crazy system in general. Stop listening to all those mature voices in your head. It’s fun :D


Leave a Reply

Categories

