Posted by: Anja | May 10, 2010

Why’s everything so complicated?

I don’t really want to get philosophical today, but I had to make this headline as it just resembles everything that’s currently floating through my mind. For no special reason. Really! Okay, I just watched Grey’s Anatomy and Private Practice and I have to say that I am happy not to be a surgeon and that I’m kind of normal. Without as much problems as them. Still, without problems and complications, life would be boring, wouldn’t it be?

Today’s post is actually about ground beef and feta. Which results together in greek inspired puff dough pastries as you can see in the picture. This is one of my standard meals, that I am making in every city I live in, at all stages of my life. It’s comfort food, as described it can be eaten anywhere at any time and it’s easy to make. Also I really like feta while I am opposed to eating much meat all by my own without someone to share it with or cook it for. Which reminds me that I still have some chicken, bought two days ago, don’t worry!, does anyone care to join me? Drifting off…. Okay, I’m back! Right, you can add spices to your tasting, this time I used a scallion as an addition to my normal recipe, which I liked, but you can leave it out, if you prefer the taste more pure.

Feta & Beef Pastries

100g ground beef
80g feta
2 teaspoons fresh parsley
freshly grounded black pepper
salt
275g puff pastry
1 egg
4 tablespoons olive oil
optional: 1 scallion

First step: Heat a pan to medium heat with 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Add the meat and let it cook until it’s evenly through, take it off the oven. When you take the meat off the pan, care to not put away too much oil.  Cut the scallion if you are using it and put it aside.

Second step: Cut the feta into small pieces and put it together with the parsley into a medium-large bowl. Add the meat, salt and pepper to taste and mix with a fork. The meat shouldn’t be cold when you do this step as the warmth of it is needed to make the feta a bit less stiff and to combine everything better. Add the scallion if you are using one.

Third step: Now roll out the puff pastry. I used fresh pastry from the refrigerator, not frozen, but frozen pastry should work as well if you let it warm up a couple of hours before making this dish. Cut it into even parts. What you are aiming for are rectangles of about 10*6cm or something similar according to the measurements of your dough. A normal 275g refrigerator puff pastry makes eight rectangles. Heat the pan again to low-medium heat with the remaining two spoons of olive oil added to it.

Fourth step: Put the filling onto you rectangles evenly. Center the filling in the middle! Now turn the short edges onto each other and press the dough together at the sides. Fold up the dough edges and press them firmly together as to form a little closed pouch. Now beat the egg and spread it evenly on top of the pastries.

Fifth step: Put half of the pastries (I used a large skillet and still it’s not enough for all of them at the same time, so I did it half/half) into the pan with the egg side down. After three minutes, brush the other sides of the pastries with the egg, while they are still in the pan, and turn them around. Wait again for 3 minutes and turn them again. Each side should be at the bottom twice. Take off the oven and make the second batch. Bon appetit!

As a note: I prefer these when they are warm or even cooled down than to them being hot. It’s my thing, it may not be yours, but I think the feta comes more through when they are not that warm.

That closes this cooking and philosophy lesson and as I am tired now, I’ll go to bed. Yes I know that the post will say something around 10am, but can you keep a secret? I actually wrote this today, Sunday, at a 11.30pm! Shocking, isn’t it?

Sov gott!

Leave a Reply

Categories

