Posted by: Anja | May 5, 2010

On a muffin streak…

Yes, I know that my last post has been about muffins and this one will be about them as well. Last week-end I had a sudden longing for muffins after baking only cakes and cookies for quite some time. So I went creative and advanced my blueberry muffin recipe and two days later I made up these muffins from a couple of recipes thrown together. These are raspberry lemon muffins with a streusel topping.

Okay, as always I have a couple of things that I’d try differently the next time but that’s just me and my perfectionism. I think these muffins as they are have the capability of going outside with their heads held high, meaning that I am not ashamed of them.

By the way, sorry for keeping you without any new recipe for quite some time, but the university ball is rolling again and it’s rolling fast this time. I hope I can keep you provided with two or three new recipes per week, I’ll try my best. If you have some preferences on recipes, just tell me and I’ll look something up and write about it.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins with Streusel Topping

streusel topping:
100g flour
70g sugar
70g butter

muffins:
120g white sugar
100g brown sugar
2 teaspoons lemon zest
250g flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
100g butter
2 eggs
200ml buttermilk
3/4 teaspoon salt
150g raspberries

First step: Prepare the streusel by melting the butter for the streusel on low heat and combining the flour and sugar in a bowl. Now add the butter and mix with your fingers (hot!) or a spoon to combine. Put aside. Preheat your oven to 175°C.

Second step: Combine the two different kinds of sugar in a bowl and add the lemon zest. Mix together. Melt the butter for the muffins on low heat, then add it to the sugar. Whisk to combine. Now add one by one the eggs and whisk.

Third step: In another bowl combine the flour, salt and baking powder. Now add this mixture in alternation with the buttermilk to the sugar mixture. Whisk in between to combine everything. When everything is smoothly combined, heave the raspberries with a spoon under the dough.

Fourth step: Butter your muffin form or use paper cups for the form. Heave two tablespoons of dough into each little muffin cup, the cup should be filled nearly to the top. Sprinkle the streusel on top and put the form into the oven for 35-45 minutes. As I already said in my last post, my oven is acting a bit weird the last couple of days, so have a close look after 30 minutes. They are good if the inside of the muffins isn’t liquid anymore. Enjoy!

Well, what would I do differently? First, I’d probably get some snapshots of the process but I was just too lazy this time. Second, I’d change the combination of the streusel topping again. Less flour, more sugar, a bit less butter. I know I’ve experimented on this in the blueberry recipe as well and I found the softer streusel more fitting for this raspberry recipe, but I think there is still a bit place for improvement. Also, I’d probably increase the amount of lemon zest used, because the lemon taste was there, but not that strong. A bit more would have been nice.

Leave a Reply

Categories

