Posted by: Anja | April 24, 2010

Blueberry and cinnamon?

I have already told you that I haven’t found the perfect blueberry muffin recipe yet. Still, I am experimenting, trying new combinations and new flavors to go with the blueberries. This time I tried cinnamon. I think it’s not a usual combination, at least I have never seen it going hand in hand in a recipe. But that’s what this blog is about: experimenting! And as I am currently spending so much time working and learning, university has started again and even in the first week they don’t try to take it slow, relieving stress is my priority in my free time. Baking and cooking relaxes me and since it’s now the week-end, I have at least some time to do so.

For these muffins, I used my basic blueberry recipe as foundation, changing only two things:
First, I replaced the 200g of sugar with 100g normal, white sugar and 50g light brown sugar, reducing the sweetness of the muffins.
Second, I reduced the amount of lemon zest to one teaspoon in this recipe to avoid clashing the lemon taste with the cinnamon taste from the streusel.

I liked the idea of putting streusel on top and the cinnamon taste is really a kicker, still I’d do some things different the next time (I’m never really happy with my recipes, am I?). I found them a bit to dry and sweet, so I’d reduce the amount of sugar in favor of butter and flour. Also I’d reduce the cinnamon taste intensity a bit. In this batch I used 60g flour, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, 100g light brown sugar and 60g melted butter. The next time I’d reverse the shares as follows: 100g flour, 70g light brown sugar, 70g melted butter and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon. Of course I don’t know how that will taste yet, but it will be fun to find out!

Leave a Reply

Categories

