Posted by: Anja | April 21, 2010

Rice time!

I don’t know why, but I seem to focus on one ingredient at the time, switching that ingredient from week to week or even month to month according to my whims. Lemon was my addiction in March, now this is the second rice recipe I’ve been making in a short time. I’m actually not that of a rice fan, I find it too boring as a side dish. I prefer noodles or even bread. The shrimp risotto I’ve made tilted my world a bit, because that recipe was not boring at all.

As a result, I agreed with myself to give rice dishes a second chance and decided on a recipe for fried rice as the next dish I was going to make. You may know fried rice, it’s the counterpart to fried noodles that are often served in those little Asian fast food shops. Making fried rice, you have to use already cooked rice, which makes it a perfect recipe if you have some left-over rice from another occasion where it maybe was served as a side dish. This is the recipe to get rid of the rice and also of some vegetables that you have left over. You can basically mix every vegetable that is to your liking into the rice here. I used broccoli and scallions, but I don’t see why peppers, peas or tomatoes wouldn’t work.

Fried Rice
for 1 person

2 cups of cooked rice
1 large egg
1 cup of vegetables (like broccoli, peas, scallions etc.)
salt
black pepper
4 tablespoons of sesame oil
optional: nuts like walnuts, pine nuts etc.
optional: parsley

First step: Heat the oil in a medium sized pan to medium heat. Add the rice once the skillet is completely heated.

Second step: Beat the egg in a separate bowl. Add the vegetables to the rice, when the rice is slightly browned and has absorbed the sesame oil. You may need to add some vegetables before others, according to how long they need to be cooked to be through. Also, if you use broccoli for example, it needs to be blanched first before it can be added to the rice.

Third step: When all the vegetables have been added, stir the mixture for 2-3 minutes and add salt and pepper to your taste. Now pour the egg on top and stir to combine. When it’s completely stocked, add the nuts if you are using them and stir for another 1-2 minutes.

Fourth step: Now you can put the rice onto your plate and serve it with parsley as garnish.

As you can see by the list of ingredients, this recipe is very variable. Therefore, you can adapt it to your taste as you like it. I liked my combination of broccoli, scallions and walnuts though I have to say that after the first one or two small bites I wasn’t really impressed with the recipe. In my next bite I had a scallion and from then on it worked for me. So you have to have a vegetable with a distinct taste in there to eke out the best of the rice.

I don’t know whether this recipe can be used for all kinds of rice, but I think it should work with the standard kinds of rice. I’m not sure about wild rice, but risotto rice of course is not an option here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

