Posted by: Anja | April 17, 2010

Sweet cookies dotted with green

I like to bake cookies. And I like experimenting with the ingredients in cookies. My chocolate cookies are really good, if I might say so myself without sounding too much into myself, but also the whalers and hazelnut cookies that I’ve made in the last months have been a success. Okay, that DOES sound very convinced of myself. I can’t help it! ;)

Anyway, I discovered this recipe for lime sugar cookies some months back. I’ve actually never used limes in a recipe, at least I can’t remember a recipe (drinks don’t count!). Well, I went out yesterday and bough some limes, all together four. I couldn’t buy less, because they were in a net. Sucks a bit, because I only needed one lime for these cookies. I guess I have to make them again or I have to find another lime recipe. Hmm…

About these cookies: I like them! Okay, my opinion is a bit subjective, because a) I like cookies and b) I made them. I changed the recipe a bit from the original one and I’m happy with the result, though I’d make some additional changes the next time. As always I give you the improved version of the recipe, if you have any additions, just tell me!

Lime Sugar Cookies
idea adapted from eat me, delicious

sugar sprinkling:
70g sugar
zest of one lime

dough:
180g sugar
180g flour
120g butter, room temperature
1 large egg, room temperature
juice of half a lemon
juice of one lime
pinch of salt
3/4 teaspoon baking powder

First step: The first step is to make the cookie dough. Mix the butter and the sugar using a hand mixer. Now add the egg and combine with the mixer.

Second step: Combine the dry ingredients, the flour, salt and baking powder in a bowl. Now add them to the butter mixture using the mixer again. Add the juice of the lime and the lemon and whisk to integrate.

Third step: Wrap the dough in plastic foil and put into the refrigerator for 1 hour. In the mean time, prepare the sprinkling by grating a lime and mixing the zest with the sugar. Use a spoon to mix thoroughly, the sugar will turn slightly green. The original recipe had a ratio of 110g sugar to one lime’s zest, but I think that’s too much sugar, because I had a lot of left over sprinkling and also the lime taste could have been a bit stronger.

Fourth step: Preheat the oven to 160°C and line a baking tray with parchment. Retrieve the dough from the refrigerator. Separate the dough into two halves and if you don’t have an air circulation oven, put one halve back into the refrigerator. Roll the dough to lengthen it into a roll with a 3cm diameter.  Now cut pieces off the roll that are 1cm wide. Dunk them into the sprinkling so that it sticks to the complete cookie. I know these will seem little small, but they’ll flatten out.

Fifth step: Put the cookies onto the baking parchment. Remember that they’ll get bigger, so leave about 3cm space between them. I think 8-10 cookies per tray is realistic. Put them into the oven for ca. 12 minutes. The exact time will depend on the size of your cookies, so check maybe at 10 minutes and evaluate their progress then. They should be slightly brown at the bottom when you take them out of the oven. If you use an air circulation oven, you can start preparing the second tray now, if you don’t have one, start with step four again after your first tray is done.

Sixth step: This is an optional step, which I invented to get rid of the left over sprinkling. As I had so much left, I used it to sprinkle the cookies again once they were out of the oven. If you chose to do that, don’t use much sugar, but only a bit and sprinkle it on top of the cookies when they are still warm. Enjoy!

Now my work is done for today and I’m off to town to get myself equipped with notebooks and pencils for the upcoming summer term which starts on Monday. As the ash cloud hasn’t reached Munich yet, it’s an awesome day to be outside! Have fun!

Leave a Reply

Categories

