Posted by: Anja | April 13, 2010

Scampi, I love thee

I know I’ve sung the praise of scampi already twice, be prepared – this is the third time. I love you! I do! Truly, forever!

Okay, now seriously. I’ve made scampi twice with pretty common recipes. Once just simply, but effectively, pan-fried with garlic, butter, olive oil and pepper scampi, the other time as a pasta dish with broccoli. This recipe is a bit different again. It combines a standard day-to-day dish and peps it with scampi and a bit of an Asian flavor. You have to try it!

What makes this dish so special? I think it’s because it’s really simple and easy to make, plus it tastes not common, but unusual and good. Important ingredients are soy sauce and sesame oil, I had to buy the second one especially for this dish. It was a good investment! There are so many different kinds of oils and when I walk by in the supermarket I always think to myself “Where’s the difference, do they really taste that distinct?”. Well at least for olive oil and sesame oil it’s a definite “YES!”. Just by sniffing the sesame oil, you’ll notice the difference. In my mind, the smell of this oil is closely bound to fried noodles that you can eat in an Asian restaurant. I love fried noodles!

Together with the soy sauce, pepper and some scallions to freshen up this dish, it’s really a looker, if you’re a bit more active than I was and prepare pasta or rice as side dish.

Scampi with Scrambled Eggs
idea adapted from The Wednesday Chef

125g shrimp, frosted
50g butter
salt
black pepper
3 eggs
1 teaspoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1 scallion

First step: Defrost the shrimp a bit using warm water and dry them. Heat a pan on the oven to medium heat and melt the butter. Chop the scallion.

Second step: Prepare the eggs by beating them together and adding one teaspoon of soy sauce and the same amount of sesame oil. Whisk with a fork to combine.

Third step: Once the pan is heated, add the shrimp and salt and pepper them generously. Leave on one side 1-2 minutes, then turn and let brown for another 1-2 minutes. Now add the scallion pieces and stir occasionally for 2 minutes.

Fourth step: Pour the eggs into the pan and leave them be for about 2-3 minutes. Now scramble the eggs and leave in the pan until firm enough. Serve with your chosen side dish. Bon appetit!

You really, really have to try this. I’m serious! I’ll be searching the net for sesame oil recipes so be prepared to have that taste coming up in the next recipes again. I think that it’s really a good addition to my kitchen and cooking style.

Responses

  1. Na toll, das ist nicht nur lecker, sondern hat wahrscheinlich eine super proteinwertigkeit. Und ich bin hungrig, der kuehlschrank leer und alle laeden zu…

    • dass du immer nur an das eine denken kannst… :D


Leave a Reply

Categories

