Posted by: Anja | April 10, 2010

Cheer up my day

As I am currently sick, I was in need of something to brighten up my day. So I decided on baking a sweet tart. I know that it’s not the common way to treat sickness, but I felt like it. And I wanted to try this tarte ever since I discovered that my roommate brought me some self-made jam. I was thinking about making jam myself, but who would eat that all? I generally eat jam just with pancakes or in cookies and both options are not regular, therefore self-made jam would be much effort for little use. It tastes better than bought jam though. That’s why I’m really happy that he managed to get some for me. Thanks!

I discovered the tart recipe a couple of weeks back and I thought that it sounded delicious though you have to put some time and effort into it. Time, because you need to make the filling and then refrigerate it for some hours, effort because the dough needs to be made first, then baked and then it’s ready for the filling and to be baked again. So it’s not as easy as just once making the dough and then spreading it in the form, but this recipe is a bit more complex. Still, the result is delicious. The original recipe uses orange and raspberry taste while I experimented with lemons and blackberries. I think it’s really for open for any kind of combination of berries and citrus fruits, just try it.

As always, the upcoming recipe is a bit improved according to what I think after making the tart. The original recipe asked for 1 cup of chopped almonds, which is a bit imprecise when you just have grounded almonds at hand. I used 80g making my tart, but I think that increasing the amount a bit would be even better. Also, the recipe says to bake the tart 45 minutes with the filling, but I felt that in retrospect you should leave it a bit longer in there because my filling was still rather liquid. I don’t think it’s supposed to “harden” like a normal cake, but a bit more substance would be nice. Still, with my oven I always tend to use the upper baking limit, therefore it might be an oven related issue. I’d have an eye on it anyway.

Bakewell Tart
idea adapted from smittenkitchen

dough:
180g flour
50g powdered sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
135g butter, cold
1 large egg

filling:
berry jam (raspberry, blackberry etc.)
100g grounded almonds
1 1/2 tablespoon flour
150g sugar
135g butter
1 large egg
1 large egg white
1 1/2 teaspoon lemon or orange zest

garnish:
sliced almonds
powdered sugar

First step: The filling needs to be done first, because it has to rest in the refrigerator for some hours. Therefore you lose less time making it first and preparing the rest in the mean time. In a bowl combine the grounded almonds and the flour and then add step by step the sugar, butter and zest. Constantly whisk to combine.

Second step: Now add the egg and the egg white and whisk hard to combine. Put the bowl into the refrigerator for 3 hours.

Third step: Prepare the dough by combining the flour, sugar and salt in a bowl. Add the butter and combine until it feels like coarse flour that sticks a bit. You can use either a food processor or just your hands. Now beat up the egg and pour it into the dough. Knead to combine. The dough will be pretty sticky, so use some flour to dust your hands when you retrieve it from the bowl. Wrap it up in plastic foil and refrigerate it for 30 minutes.

Fourth step: Preheat the oven to 190°C. Retrieve the dough from the refrigerator and roll it out to a 24cm round if you are using a 22cm form or to 22cm if you are using a 20cm form. If you are using the smaller form, you might need to bake the tart longer once the filling is inserted, so keep that in mind. You can use a tart form, but a spring form works also. Grease the form.

Fifth step: Put the dough into the form. Repair any parts where the dough is not evenly thick. Your tart should have a 1cm overhang on the sides as edge. Use a fork to poke the dough evenly. Cut a aluminum foil or baking parchment in a way that it fits the form you are using and covers the tart and its edge completely. Butter the foil and press the buttered side onto the tart. Put the tart into the oven for 20-25 minutes.

Sixth step: Retrieve the tart bottom from the oven and leave to cool down.

Seventh step: 10 minutes before the 3 hours cooling time of the filling are over, start spreading the jam over the bottom evenly and preheat the oven to 160°C. Take the filling out of the refrigerator and drop dollops onto the jam. Use a scraper to distribute the filling more evenly. It must not be perfectly even, because the filling will flatten out. If your edge is smaller than the amount of the filling that you are using, you should grease your form on the sides again to avoid the filling sticking to the form. If you want to use almond slices as garnish, now is the time to sprinkle them on top.

Eighth step: Put the tart into the oven for 45-60 minutes. The top should be slightly brown, but the inside will be a bit liquid still. Once it cools down, it becomes firmer. After the time is up, retrieve the tart and let it cool down completely before cutting it. Optionally, sprinkle powdered sugar on top. Enjoy!

Responses

  1. Gute Besserung!

    • danke :)

  2. Thanks for this tasty cake!
    I’ll forward your gratitude to my mom and my grandma ;)

    • Also thanks from Johanna and Stephan, they both enjoyed the cake too :-)


Leave a Reply

Categories

