Posted by: Anja | April 7, 2010

About apples and gorgonzola

I didn’t know exactly what I was going to make the next few days, so I leaved through my recipes and came up with a combination of apples, gorgonzola and walnuts. At the time I found that recipe I thought that this sounded incredible. Incredible delicious eaten separately and it also felt incredible to imagine how this stuff would taste together. Well, I gave it a shot, went to the supermarket and bought apples, walnuts and gorgonzola to make this tarte today.

Actually, I’ve never made a tarte before. Tarte means a cake with a self-made, low edging and a filling inside. It can be either sweet or hearty though I think it is more commonly used with hearty ingredients as in this case. I think it looks really good for a first try, don’t you? The gorgonzola taste was a bit strong in comparison to the walnuts, but the apples came through nicely. Also, I used thyme, for which I’d reduce the amount used for the tarte because it was too much of a contrast to the apples. But I think that this is my specific taste and can of course vary from person to person. So you should go with your gut feeling on this.

Apple Gorgonzola Walnut Tarte
idea adapted from simplyrecipes.com

dough:
150g flour
120g butter, cold
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
2-4 tablespoons ice water

filling:
2 apples (preferably Granny Smith)
80g gorgonzola
70g walnuts
1/2 teaspoon dried or 1 teaspoon fresh thyme
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1 tablespoon lemon juice
butter

First step: Combine the flour, salt and sugar for the dough. Now retrieve the butter from the refrigerator and knead it into the flour mixture. As an alternative, you can use a food processor.

Second step: Once everything is mixed up well, add two tablespoons of water. Knead the dough. It should be a bit sticky, but not too much. If it’s too floury, use some more water. Put into the refrigerator for one hour.

Third step: Cut the apples into small pieces and chop the walnuts to small bits. They shouldn’t be grounded, but you should be able to distinguish them. Cut the gorgonzola to small pieces and combine the three ingredients in a bowl. Add the thyme, lemon juice and maple syrup and stir until everything is mixed up evenly. Preheat the oven to 175°C.

Fourth step: Retrieve the dough from the refrigerator and let warm for 5-10 minutes. Grease a 20cm spring pan or a tarte pan with approximately the same area. Roll out the dough to a circle with a radius of about 23cm. Put the dough into the form and press it to the walls to fill it out. A 2cm edge should be standing, but you can use the rest of the dough to either repair strained parts of your tarte bottom or let them overlap onto the filling, as pictured in the original recipe.

Fifth step: Put the filling into the form. Take care that the gorgonzola is evenly distributed. Put the form into the oven for 45-60 minutes. The dough should then be slightly browned and the apples should be slightly brown also.

This recipe is really easy though it takes some time to make, because you need to let the dough cool down, so you have to take a break at some point. But it’s not much work. And it looks good. I probably wouldn’t serve it as a main course though but maybe as an appetizer.  Maybe with some slices of a fresh apple or a small salad. Just take care to evenly distribute the cheese, else gorgonzola can easily be overwhelming.

I loved the apples here! I think I have to make a sweet apple tarte soon, just for the fun of it. I think it’s the Granny Smith apples. I first used them when I made my pancakes and I was really surprised how fresh they tasted. It’s probably because they aren’t as sweet as red apples and that just gives the dish more contrast. I like it!

Leave a Reply

Categories

