Posted by: Anja | April 5, 2010

My version of a fishy Friday

I am not religious at all neither are my parents, but this Easter we decided to go for the classic meals, meaning that we ate fish on Friday. As my little brother and I are both of the opinion that we are grown up to a degree where we can cook better than our parents, we both wanted to do a dish this Easter. Well, I decided to try the Good Friday dish, which means fish. I decided on salmon with pasta because we are definitely not the classic go-to-church-and-then-eat-the-whole-trout kind of family. For example we ate Chinese on Sunday. I think the (new) tradition should be to eat good food, not only food that is accordance with and within some religious boundaries.

Well, salmon. I like salmon, mostly i fry it with self-made herb butter or make pasta with salmon and peas. This time I went for a white wine and cheese sauce which could basically cook on its own while I was attending the lemon cake that I did at the same time. The recipe is rather simple and not that difficult to make once you’ve got all the ingredients. Anyway, I think it’s not going to make it to my favorites list. I can’t really put the finger on it, because the dish certainly did taste good, but it was nothing really special. Also, I am always a bit queasy about using tomatoes to round up the taste of a dish. It’s just not for me, but if you’re into it, give this recipe a try. My family certainly liked the result.

Pasta with Smoked Salmon
idea adapted from Traveler’s Lunchbox

1 medium onion
3 cloves of garlic
3 tablespoons olive oil
100ml white wine, dry
250ml heavy cream
175g cream cheese
1 teaspoon sugar
2 teaspoons tomato paste
300g smoked salmon
1/4 cup lemon juice
salt
black pepper
500g pasta, fettuccine or something similar

First step: Chop the onion and the garlic to small bits. An alternative to chopping the garlic is to use a garlic squeezer. Heat a pan to medium heat and pour in the olive oil. Set up the water for the pasta.

Second step: Throw the garlic and onion slices into the olive oil and let simmer a bit until the onions are glassy. Add the white wine and let continue to simmer. Salt the pasta water and throw in the pasta.

Third step: Once the white wine has reduced a bit with occasional stirring, add the cream cheese and heavy cream. Bring to a boil and then reduce the heat to low-medium heat. Let simmer for about five minutes.

Fourth step: Add the tomato paste and sugar as well as the lemon juice. Stir to combine. Throw in the salmon and stir occasionally for another five minutes. Now add salt, pepper and maybe more whine, lemon juice or sugar to your taste.

Fifth step: Drain the pasta and put onto a plate. Decorate with the sauce, which should be slightly pink.

Well, as I said, it was okay, but not really my case. I prefer salmon more directly, without the heavy sauce.

Another topic: My parents already ask questions about the time I’ll be spending in America, which is unfortunate as I don’t have a clue myself. Well, they come back to asking me whether I’ll blog, in German, about what I do there so that they can keep up with me over there. What do you think? Is anyone else interested in that? Blogging just for my parents would be kind of sad… I’ve put up a poll, on the right side of this blog, to answer this question, just vote for whatever you want and I’ll decide according to the results.

Responses

  1. Where is the poll?

    • right side, beneath the heading POLL! the one in bold letters. ;)
      also, the link was in the facebook message…. :D

      • Found it :D


Leave a Reply

Categories

