Posted by: Anja | April 3, 2010

Easter cake

Doesn’t this cake look delicious? One of my masterpieces, if I might say so myself. The cake just has the looks and the taste. As I am currently staying with my parents, I get to use their kitchen equipment, which is sadly not that good. My parents just aren’t that into cooking and especially not baking, but they got something that I don’t have: A Bundt cake form. As you can see from the picture, it’s a kind of festive looking cake form, which makes any cake made in this form look really good.

I know I made lemon cakes, muffins etc. a couple of times now that I have this blog but I’m not getting tired of them somehow. Additionally, my brother is not that into cakes, especially sweet cakes, which cut my possibilities in preparing a cake and which is the reason why I decided on lemon cake. Another cake, which I’m still thinking about making within the next days, is a cinnamon swirl cake. Basically that’s a normal cake with a bit of cinnamon flavor and a cinnamon-sugar swirl in the middle. I think that sounds delicious! Over the holidays, most of the blogs that I am reading got updated, meaning that I have some new recipes to try in the upcoming weeks.

Bundt Lemon Cake
idea adapted from smittenkitchen.com

200g butter, room temperature, + some butter for greasing
350g + 80g sugar
4 large eggs, room temperature
lemon zest from 5 bio lemons
300g flour
1 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup + 6 tablespoon lemon juice
180ml buttermilk, room temperature
150g powdered sugar

First step: Beat the butter and 350g sugar together until light and well combined. Add the eggs one after the other and whisk to combine. Preheat the oven to 160°C.

Second step: Grease the Bundt form with butter. Add the lemon zest to the butter mixture and combine again. Separately combine the flour, baking powder and salt and mix to distribute the salt and baking powder evenly in the flour.

Third step: In another bowl, mix the buttermilk and 1/4 cup of lemon juice. Now add the buttermilk mixture and the flour mixture alternately to the butter mixture and whisk to combine. Pour the dough into the greased pan and put it into the oven. The original recipe says 45-60 minutes, but for me it took 75 minutes. Use a cake tester to verify the liquidity of the cake inside. If the dough sticks at the tester, continue to bake.

Fourth step: 15 minutes before the cake is finished, heat 3 tablespoons of lemon juice and 80g sugar over low-medium heat until the sugar is dissolved. Take the syrup off the oven. Take the cake out of the oven, let it cool for 10 minutes. Then invert the cake onto a plate.

Fifth step: Use a brush to spread the syrup evenly over the cake and let the cake cool completely which takes about one hour.

Sixth step: Mix three tablespoons of lemon juice with the powdered sugar, the result should have a thick, milky consistency. Now pour the glaze on top of the cake and let it run down the rills of the Bundt cake. Enjoy!

What I really liked about this cake was the glaze. It’s really refreshing and the cake is not too sweet although I’ve been a bit skeptic when I looked at the measurements of the cake. I changed them a bit to suit the Bundt cake form, which I used, meaning that I reduced the amount of the ingredients in comparison to the original recipe. Although I reduced all other ingredients, I increased the amount of baking powder because I know that such cakes tend to be pretty dense, which I didn’t want here. I used 1 teaspoon of baking powder, which got me a good result, but a bit more baking powder should be even better, that’s why I increased the amount in the recipe above.

I think this is a really easy and fast to make cake which is not over-weighed with lemon taste or sweetness, but suits a small, festive occasion. And it looks just awesome. :)

Leave a Reply

Categories

