Posted by: Anja | March 30, 2010

Filling session

A couple of days back I described to you my success in making my own ravioli. At the same time, I was a bit unhappy with the filling that I made there, which was a mushroom and pine nut filling. When I was in then at the supermarket a few days ago, I had a sudden lusting for cheese. That’s not really unusual for me as I am quite a cheese fanatic and always trying new kinds of cheese. Well, I grabbed some goat cheese, mozzarella and also gorgonzola, developing the spontaneous idea to experiment a bit more with ravioli fillings.

In the end I ate most of the goat cheese with the ciabatta that I bought on that day as well, together with garlic and basil oil. This is an alternative to the basil pesto, if you don’t have the time to make pesto but want something similar to go with the goat cheese.

I still had the mozzarella and the gorgonzola though, so I made two different fillings, using cream cheese, walnuts and basil as basis and then mixing in the different kinds of cheese separately. To my mind it was a success, the fillings tasted great, especially the gorgonzola filling. Mozzarella is always a bit without definite taste, I think you need a good sauce to go with the ravioli here. Gorgonzola in contrast has its own really distinctive taste and even only with a bit of butter to fry the ravioli, they tasted really intense.

Mozzarella or Gorgonzola Filling

30g walnuts
1/2 teaspoon basil leaves
80g cream cheese
black pepper
110g mozzarella
or
80g gorgonzola

First step: Prepare the ravioli dough as described in the ravioli recipe and put it into the refrigerator. Use a pestle and a matching bowl to ground the walnuts.

Second step: Cut the basil into small pieces and add to the walnuts. Ground again, take care that the basil is evenly distributed among the walnuts.

Third step: Mix the cream cheese with the walnuts until homogeneously combined. Now add the specific cheese that you are using, either mozzarella or gorgonzola, and add a pinch of pepper. Combine again until it is one evenly distributed mass.

Fourth step: After 30 minutes in the refrigerator retrieve the dough and start making the ravioli using the cheese filling. Follow the instructions for proceeding as in the original ravioli recipe. Enjoy!

I really liked both cheese fillings much more than my first mushroom oriented try. I think these fillings just have more heart, more taste. Judge for yourself, but I think these fillings are definitely keepers.

Leave a Reply

Categories

