Posted by: Anja | March 28, 2010

Comfort food on a grey day

I was in the mood for mushrooms today. Okay, not on purpose today, but I decided to be in the mood for mushrooms today a couple of days back. That’s why I had to be in the mood for them today. Luckily I’m one of the persons that loves eating button mushrooms, porcini, chanterelles etc. not just in, but also off, season. When I was young, my parents often dragged me and my little brother to go mushroom hunting in the woods. I didn’t like the walking part, but the eating part afterwards was awesome.

I already showed you a dish with chicken and mushrooms, but made in the oven. I seem to be single-minded when it comes to food with meat. Or I just have a knack for turning chicken and mushrooms into something delicious while I fail with other meat recipes, which I don’t show to you then of course. Anyway, this recipe is a bit different from the previous one as I made this one up myself to turn some left-over chicken into something yummy. The other recipe is not that spontaneous, you need to prepare it a little bit more and especially have more ingredients at home.

Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

1 chicken breast, middle sized
150ml heavy cream
150g button mushrooms
salt
black pepper
40ml white wine
50g butter
side dish ingredients like rice or noodles
parsley or basil for garnish, fresh

First step: Wash the mushrooms and cut them into not too small pieces. Heat a medium pan on the oven to medium heat and throw in 30g butter. Add the mushrooms and let them brown while stirring occasionally. This will take 5-8 minutes. When your pan gets too hot, reduce the heat to low-medium.

Second step: While the mushrooms brown, prepare your side dish, for example set up the pasta water. Also wash the chicken and cut it into small pieces. Rub the chicken with a bit of salt and pepper.

Third step: Once the mushrooms are nearly browned, sprinkle them with salt and pepper to your taste, stir for another minute and then add the heavy cream and white wine. Adjust the heat to low-medium. The sauce should create bubbles, but not too many. Stir occasionally for 3-4 minutes.

Fourth step: Add the chicken and take care that it covers the bottom of the pan. For that, you can move the mushrooms to the side of the pan, as they are already done. It takes another 4-5 minutes with occasional stirring for the chicken to be done. During this time, cut the fresh herbs that you use for your garnish.

Fifth step: Add the rest of the butter to your sauce and adjust the taste with salt and pepper. Serve the chicken with mushroom sauce together with your side dish, sprinkled with garnish. Bon appetit!

I’m not a 100% sure about the real and exact amounts of cream and white wine I used, because this kind of recipe is based on my feeling of what the dish should taste like and it can vary of course from person to person. Additionally, if I don’t cook by recipe I tend to just pour everything together and taste later on if it’s any good. Therefore guessing the right amount of ingredients is a bit difficult. I’d say take the recipe as a direction and adjust it to your own needs.

Normally, I do this dish with left-over chicken and mushrooms, but without the white wine. I have to say that using the wine gives the dish an additional kick which notches it up in my list of recipes. I hope that you’ll feel the same way.

Leave a Reply

Categories

