Posted by: Anja | March 24, 2010

Does cream cheese fit?

The question should be a bit more specific: Does cream cheese fit into a sweet recipe? In Germany, we are not used, at least I am not used, to using cheese like mascarpone or cream cheese to make sweet dishes. Mascarpone okay, you can use it for a cream like a raspberry cream or something similar, but cream cheese? The classical German cheese cake is made of curd cheese. In English, there exists a connection to other kinds of cheese through the name “curd cheese” itself. In contrast, the German word has really nothing to do with cheese. That’s why at least I wasn’t used to create a cake with real cheese in it.

Okay, back to the question: Yes, it does fit. For example I already made the black bottom cupcakes, which was my first post. They included cream cheese as well. I think it’s more commonly used in the US and since I’ve bought too much cream cheese, I guess I have to try some more recipes within the next couple of days. So be prepared! Any preferences?

Cream Cheese Blondies
idea adapted from eat me, delicious

160g melted butter
200g flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
200g brown sugar
3 large eggs
1 package of vanilla sugar
175g cream cheese
50g white sugar

First step: Combin the cream cheese with the white sugar. Add an egg and whisk until combined. Add 30g of the melted butter and whisk to combine. Preheat the oven to 160°C and butter a 20cm square form or a 22cm spring form.

Second step: Separately, combine the rest of the butter with the brown sugar. Add two eggs one after the other and whisk to combine. In a third bowl, combine the dry ingredients, the flour, salt and baking powder. Continue whisking the brown sugar mixture while adding the dry ingredients to the mix.

Third step: Pour half of the brown sugar mixture into the buttered pan and spread evenly. Now pour 2/3rd of the cream cheese mixture on top of it. Use two spoons to drop dollops of the remaining brown sugar dough on top of the two layers. Do that until all of the dough is used. Now pour the remaining cream cheese mixture on top.

Fourth step: Put the form into the oven for about 45 to 50 minutes. It should be slightly browned on top. Let it cool, it tastes better once cool.

As you can see from the pictures I’ve provided of my creative process, I didn’t do it with a spring form or something similar but with a loaf form. I think that in this form the combined dough is to thick, which results in longer baking time and not really blondies, because blondies are normally relatively flat squares. Next time, I’ll do it this way. Also, I’d advise to not swirl the layers as the original recipe proposes, because it doesn’t really help. The layers are really different in their denseness and I couldn’t really mix them. Anyway, if you drop the dollops and leave some space in between, it will still look nice once cut.

Right, the taste. It’s rather sweet, but not too sweet. The basic dough is not really something that knocks you off your feet, but in combination with the cream cheese layer, it gains importance. I don’t know how to phrase it in a better way. Just try it and tell me whether you agree with me. :)

Leave a Reply

Categories

