Posted by: Anja | March 21, 2010

I already told you…

… that I do love shrimp. Seriously love. Not a one-time affair, but a constant and deep love. I can eat shrimp in any variation and it always tastes good. Today I’m going to present to you one of my favorite recipes including shrimp as well as broccoli. I am not much of a vegetable type, unfortunately, cooked tomatoes for example give me the creeps. I don’t know why, it’s just like that.

Back to this dish: Broccoli is one of the few vegetables that I really enjoy eating and that I buy often. Not just because of my bunnies, who love broccoli, but also as I like to use it for my dishes. Hmm.. what else to say? Yeah, it’s a dish with garlic. Garlic and shrimp go together really well, but I think a garlic-free version of this dish would work, too. Just take a look at the top picture and tell me that this doesn’t look awesome. That would be a plain lie.

Shrimp and Broccoli Pasta
idea adapted from simplyrecipes.com

1 cup broccoli
150g pasta, preferably fettuccine
olive oil
200ml heavy cream
75ml white wine
2 garlic cloves, chopped
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
125g shrimp
1 tablespoon parsley, chopped
salt

First step: Start by bringing a small pot with water to a boil. Chop the broccoli to small bits and throw into the water. Boil for about 2 minutes, then drain the broccoli and put aside.

Second step: Start to heat another, large pot with water for the pasta. Heat a medium pan to medium-high heat.

Third step: Throw the garlic into the pan with some olive oil. Add about 150ml, 50ml white wine and the pepper. Stir to combine and let simmer for about seven to ten minutes. When the water in the pot is boiling, throw in the pasta.

Fourth step: Add the shrimp to the pan and let cook for another three to four minutes. Now add the broccoli and stir occasionally. If the sauce becomes to thick, add more heavy cream or white wine to taste.

Fifth step: Drain the pasta and throw with some olive oil. Add the pasta to the sauce and stir to combine. Salt to taste and serve on a plate with some parsley as decoration on top.

With a glass of white wine and either a conversion partner or a good tv series, this food can save your day.

Off-topic: I noticed that my compact digital camera has a manual focus, but I am not sure how to use it correctly as it seems different than the manual focus of a digital reflex camera. Can anyone tell me how it works? As well I am searching for a new camera for my trip to America because I got it stuck in my head to make pictures that will afterwards cover my walls as posters. I can’t do that with my current camera because it is not able to provide such a high resolution. I am open for help which kind is best for that purpose and from where I can get a suiting camera.

Leave a Reply

Categories

