Posted by: Anja | March 20, 2010

A sweet, sweet day…

… due to my first shot at making a banana cake. I’ve made banana muffins once before but I wasn’t happy with the taste, that’s why I’ve avoided so far to make another baking recipe with bananas. Well, I bought some a few days ago and I noticed that I’d never really eat them when in their natural form. I searched my stack of recipes and came up with an interesting recipe, called Upside-Down Banana Cake. I was like “Upside down? Sounds like fun!”, so my motivation for making this cake was rather the thrill of experimenting than the appetite for bananas.

I’m positively surprised by the results of this experiment though I’ll never become a real fan of banana cake. It’s just too sweet. Here, the reason could also be the pound of sugar in this cake, but that’s just a wild guess. Anyway, just too sweet for my taste. Though it tastes good. Am I contradicting myself? I mean, I like the cake, but you have to be in the mood for something really sweet and I don’t think that that will be often the case for me. I like fresh cakes better, but I think that’s different for everyone.

Upside-Down Banana Cake
idea adapted from epicurious.com

bottom:
200g brown sugar
90g butter, room temperature
2 large bananas, sliced

batter:
180g flour
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup mashed bananas
120ml buttermilk
1 package vanilla sugar
250g sugar
80g vegetable shortening
2 eggs

First step: Brush a 20 square form or a 25cm spring form with butter or line it with parchment. Combine the butter and sugar for the bottom. Press the mixture into the form, covering the whole bottom of the form. Put the banana slices on top. Cover as much of the sugar mixture as possible. Preheat the oven to 160°C.

Second step: Combine the flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl, set aside. Combine the mashed bananas, the buttermilk and the vanilla sugar and set this mixture aside as well.

Third step: Use an electronic mixer to combine the sugar and the butter. Add one egg after the other, whisk to combine. Now alternately mix in the buttermilk combination and the dry ingredients and combine by whisking.

Fourth step: Pour the batter on top of the banana slices and spread evenly. Put into the oven for about 65 minutes.

Fifth step: Retrieve the cake from the oven, wait 5 minutes then invert it onto a plate. You can eat it either warm or at room temperature.

That was my first banana cake! I’m sitting here, having only eaten two medium slices, but I’m just sooo full. It’s really sweet and heavy. Though not bad. Hmm. But I think I’ll give myself a treat and make some shrimp in the evening. When I can move again. Just to eat something that is light. How does shrimp with broccoli and pasta sound to you? Awesome!

Leave a Reply

Categories

