Posted by: Anja | March 18, 2010

Making your own tortellini and ravioli…

… is really not difficult. Similar to the gnocchi I’ve made a couple of weeks ago, I was surprised at how easy though time-consuming making tortellini respectively ravioli can be. Two days ago, we had visit from a friend of my room mate and they decided spontaneously to make tortellini. To be specific, three different kinds of tortellini. I can tell you that they tasted really good but it took about 4-5 hours to prepare them.

I had already decided on Monday to do some ravioli this week just to figure out what I’m able to do in the kitchen and especially how long it takes me to make them. I didn’t reach 4 hours, but it took me 1.5 hours until I finally tasted the results of my exploits. I decided on a non too common filling, a mixture of mushrooms and pine nuts with a bit of cheese and I have to say that I expected a little bite more of this combination. I haven’t eaten pine nuts before – at least not consciously – and I didn’t know what to expect really, but I thought the result… well, a bit boring. May be the case because I used a bit too much ricotta, but I think I have to adjust the recipe to my taste.The recipe stated here uses the same ingredients as I did, but in different amounts. It’s up to you whether you trust my judgment and try my modified version or take a look at the original recipe.

Mushroom and Pine Nut Ravioli
idea adapted from eat me, delicious

dough:
240g flour
1 egg
1/2 cup ice water
1 teaspoon salt

filling:
6 large button mushrooms
1 tablespoon olive oil
salt
black pepper
4 tablespoons pine nuts
1/4 teaspoon dried basil
2 tablespoons parmesan
1 tablespoon ricotta

First step: Whisk together the egg and the salt for the dough. Add 1/4 cup of the ice water and then step by step the flour. When the flour doesn’t combine any more with the rest, add more water.

Second step: Knead the dough, in the end it should be a bit sticky. If it is not, keep on adding ice water, but take care not to add too much. Wrap the dough with foil and put it into the refrigerator.

Third step: Heat a pan to medium heat on the oven. Add the olive oil and while the pan’s still heating up clean and slice the mushrooms. Put the mushrooms into the pan and brown them for 6-8 minutes. Add some salt and pepper and stir from time to time.

Fourth step: Put the mushrooms in a food processor and add the pine nuts and basil. Pulse until combined, you may need to use a spoon to scrape the sides of the processor from time to time.

Fifth step: Pour the mixture in a bowl, add the cheese and some additional salt and pepper to taste.

Sixth step: Retrieve the dough from the refrigerator, part it into two portions and start to roll the first one out on a floured surface. Keep in mind to flour your rolling pin as well. Make the dough as thin as possible and then cut rounds from it using for example a dessert ring or a glass. Repeat the procedure until all of the dough is used. I made twenty-seven 8cm rounds from this amount of dough.

Seventh step: Put a bit of filling on every dough circle and brush the sides with ice water. Now fold one half over the other like shown in the picture and press the seams together. Additionally, use a small fork to mesh the dough further.

Eighth step: Bring water to a boil and throw the ravioli in. Let them boil for three minutes, then take them off the oven.

Not difficult, but, as you can imagine from my lengthy description, really time-consuming. As the ravioli themselves would have been a bit dry, I heated another pan during the boiling process and put about 50g of butter inside. Then I browned my left-over mushrooms and added the ravioli step by step as I didn’t have a large enough pot at hand to make them all at the same time. Maybe a sauce with heavy cream would work as well, but this simple sauce was fine with me.

The dough was pretty good, easy to roll out and okay to taste. I mean, it’s nothing special, but the focus should be on the filling, right? As this is so easy, I think I’ll try a different filling the next time I feel up for it. Message me any suggestions!

Leave a Reply

Categories

