Posted by: Anja | March 17, 2010

On the sweet side of life

The sky’s blue and my mood’s going up as the temperature increases. After days of being confined to my rooms, I was able to walk outside without being blown away. Twice! When working from home, being outside becomes your own choice. And being outside when it’s snowing and a strong west wind’s coming in just loses its beauty somehow.

I decided yesterday to not make anything today. I guess I don’t agree with myself. Because today in the morning I caught myself day-dreaming about what I’m going to produce in the afternoon. Well, my sensible self lost the war against my sugar-addicted self. But I didn’t want to work by recipe today. So I decided not to. I mean I used a couple of recipes, mixed them up, took part of this and part of that and finally made up my first really own recipe. I’m really proud of myself though I don’t know how long I can continue to be proud as I think my ceiling will soon com crushing down on me. Why’s that? Since 1pm one of our neighbors, obviously the one above us, keeps on hammering and drilling away in his apartment. Though I have the feeling that it’s not only the apartment but the floor above my working place. Sure sounds like that.

Blueberry Muffins

200g sugar
90g butter, melted
2 teaspoons lemon zest
250g flour
2 teaspoon baking powder
pinch of salt
2 medium eggs
200ml buttermilk
150g blueberries, defrosted

First step: Part the 200g sugar into a 50g and a 150g portion. Mix the lemon zest with the 50g sugar until it’s still a sugary consistency but in yellow. Preheat the oven to 175°C.

Second step: Combine the butter and the remaining 150g sugar by whisking. Add the eggs one after the other. Separately combine the salt, baking powder and flour.

Third step: Add the lemon sugar to the mixture and whisk. Alternatively pour the dry ingredients and the buttermilk into the butter mix while keeping up the whisking. Fold in the blueberries.

Fourth step: Prepare a muffin tray with paper forms or brush the hollows with butter so that the dough won’t stick. Now spoon the batch into the forms, it should be enough dough for 12 muffins.

Fifth step: Put the tray into the oven for 25-30 minutes. Afterwards, let the muffins cool for 10 minutes and then get them out of muffin tray, but let them cool some more before starting to eat. I know, it’s hard – I couldn’t do it – but I’m eating some now and they are better than when they were still warm.

Well, that’s my first recipe. As the title indicates, this recipe is for those of you with a sweet tooth. I think the next time I’ll experiment a little further, maybe reducing the amount of sugar a bit or replacing it with light brown sugar, I don’t know yet. Don’t misunderstand me, I think these muffins taste really good, else I wouldn’t have eaten four of them within the last 40 minutes, but I still haven’t found THE perfect blueberry muffin. This recipe is a great improvement in comparison to its predecessors, but still, there’s something missing. I just have to figure out what.

Ah, I nearly forgot. If you ever forget to get your fruits out of the freezer in time for them to defrost, as it always happens to me, here’s how to get them to defrost the fast way, not completely of course but better than nothing. Put the fruits, works for raspberries and blueberries, in a bowl and fill the bowl with cold water. While preparing the muffins or cake or whatever you are making drain the fruits from time to time and pour in new, warmer water. In the end drain the water completely and use the kitchen paper to dry the fruits. Et voilà!

Leave a Reply

Categories

