Posted by: Anja | March 16, 2010

It may rain or it may shine…

… this delicious frittata is mine! Frittata? That’s an Italien version of an omelette, but different. It’s made of eggs and everything you feel like that day and that suits eggs. In Germany, we often use ham but then scramble the eggs and serve it for breakfast. Making frittata is as I already said a bit different than scrambled eggs because it is obviously not scrambled and also it’s different from an omelette because it is not folded and normally finished in the oven, which I can confirm for this frittata. Thanks wikipedia! :D

Today I wasn’t in the mood for extensive cooking, I guess I’ll come to that within the next days as I am positively itching to make a recipe that I found yesterday, but I won’t tell you now what it is in case I fail. If you don’t know what I’m making, you’re not expecting a specific recipe and I’ll prepare something different pointing out that that’s the originally wanted dish. Brilliant plan, isn’t it?

Back to today’s frittata. I like to look at my food and I like it to look good for me. That’s why I prefer frittata to scrambled eggs, because they just look… well, scrambled. There’s a huge difference! Here the mushrooms peak out of the eggs and green sprinkles color the frittata. Makes my heart go pit-a-pat.

Mushroom Frittata
idea adapted from eat me, delicious

2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 medium onion
150g button mushrooms
salt
pepper
3 large eggs
2 tablespoons parmesan
2 tablespoons fresh herbs like basil and parsley

First step: Select a medium pan that is oven resistant. Heat the olive oil in the pan to medium heat. While the pan is heating up, start cutting the ingredients.  Dice the onions and herbs and slice the mushrooms.

Second step: Sauté the onions in the pan until they are glassy. Add the mushrooms and stir from time to time to brown them equally. Reduce the heat to low-medium.

Third step: Combine the eggs, cheese and herbs separately in a bowl. When the mushrooms leak their juice, salt and pepper them to your taste. Pour the eggs equally over the mushrooms and onions.

Fourth step: Do not stir! Just leave the pan be for about 8 minutes. Preheat the oven using only the upper heat. Once the time is over, the top of the frittata should be a bit liquid still. That’s okay.

Fifth step: Put the pan into the oven for 2-3 minutes according to your oven and your taste. Check on the frittata and get it out there once it is browned to your taste. Bon appetit!

I know that it’s not the fastest egg recipe, but the effort is worth it. Best serve it with bread, I can’t think of any side dish right now that suits this frittata better. You can of course vary the ingredients you are using, maybe add bacon or ham, increase the amount of onions that you use or something else. I think this recipe is really open for variations. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

Categories

