Posted by: Anja | March 15, 2010

Buttermilk to soothe my soul…

Today is one of those days where everything seems to go wrong. I don’t know exactly why, but bad stuff seems to focus on one day to happen. But life’s hard and I shouldn’t complain, at least I got cookies to burrow my frustration in. I’ve already eaten six and I’ve got a feeling that more will be following the others on their way. So when I don’t write tomorrow, I’m still sugar-shocked.

When I got up, it was snowing – again. Should I still complain? Seems unnecessary because everyone’s complaining about it. Anyway, add some insurance problems and a throbbing elbow that I rammed for whatever reason into the handle of my door and the day’s perfect. But I’m complaining – sorry! Back to the reason why I’m writing this blog: food! Since I’m a lot at home right now, I often get bored and start searching for recipes, yet again. Doing so, I discovered this recipe for buttermilk cookies and since I had buttermilk in the refrigerator that seriously needed to be used, I made those cookies a couple of hours ago. And they are really good soul soothers!

Buttermilk Cookies
idea adapted from Novice Baker

dough:
360g flour
1 teaspoon of lemon zest
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
175g butter, melted
175g sugar
1 package of vanilla sugar
2 eggs
150ml buttermilk

glaze:
80g powdered sugar
2 tablespoons buttermilk
1 package of vanilla sugar

First step: Mix together the sugar, vanilla sugar and butter. Whisk until smooth. Continue to whisk and add the eggs one after the other.

Second step: Add the lemon zest and whisk again. Combine the flour, salt and baking powder separately in a bowl. Preheat the oven to 160°C.

Third step: Add the dry ingredients to the butter mix alternately with the buttermilk. After every insertion, whisk until smooth. The dough should be really homogeneous after all ingredients have been added though rather sticky for a cookie dough.

Fourth step: Cover a baking tray with parchment and drop tablespoons of dough onto the parchment. Per baking tray, approximately 9 cookies should be enough. These cookies won’t flatten completely, but only a bit. Put each tray into the oven for 12-20 minutes. I am sorry that I am not able to give you a more accurate time, but in the recipe it says 12-15 minutes and for me it was 15-20 minutes. A reason for my longer baking time could be that I made rather large cookies.

Sixth step: While the cookies are in the oven, prepare the glaze.  Combine all ingredients and whisk together, use for example a small fork for that. The glaze will be rather milky and sticky, but that’s okay.

Seventh step: Once the cookies are out of the oven, put them off the baking tray for cooling. Immediately brush the cookies with the glaze and let them cool completely. Done!

Well, it’s a simple recipe, so don’t expect to be surprised by oriental flavors. The cookies are soft and sweet, nice to be combined for example with tea or coffee in a break. The recipe makes about 30 small or 20 large cookies. Remember to let the larger cookies bake a bit longer and check on them before taking them out of the oven.

Not everything was bad today anyway, that’s the upside of having entertainment in form of bunnies at home. They never fail to brighten up my mood. My room mate and I had a go at Wolke’s fur yesterday, taking one hour to at least remove the long fur on her back and sides. Well, she looks like a small sheep with floppy ears now. Tac on the other hand nowadays is really sleepy, sleeping just everywhere, as you can see in the picture. But I’m drifting off topic and I don’t want to bore you with descriptions of my bunnies!

Enjoy the recipe!

Responses

  1. to attract and bind attention to your blog you need to have some plot in your stories. I think the side track with the bunnies is a quite good idea :D


Leave a Reply

Categories

