Posted by: Anja | March 12, 2010

Today, it’s pink!

Pink like these little, cute shrimp. I love shrimp. It does not matter how you prepare them, to my mind, they always taste like heaven. Okay, I really don’t know how heaven tastes, but who does know that anyway? To my mind, shrimp are simply delicious. For example in pasta together with broccoli or combined with cinnamon, lemon and orange zest. I know that the last idea is a bit out of the box, but just try it! You won’t be disappointed.

When I woke up this morning, the sun was shining and even though the snow’s still lying outside my window, I think spring might be really coming. I mean, I made the deadline March 20th, so spring should better hurry up. Due to this good weather and definite lack of clothing in my room mates closet, we decided to spend some time in the city shopping today. Weeeee shopping! :D

Do I need to say that I do love shopping? I don’t think so, because as I am female, this should be rather obvious. The maximum amount of money that my room mate wanted to spent was unfortunately nearly gone after the first (!!!) shop that we entered, but still we spent some time looking through some other shops. Also, this trip was a good excuse for me to do some shopping for myself – yes, I should do that when I’m in America, I know, but it’s shopping! – because of the lack of suitable to-go-with-it clothes for my red jacket. Actually, this jacket was an impulsive Christmas present for myself. At that time I simply forgot that I had nothing to go with it. But hey, I found something today. To make me happy is just so simple.

Peppery Garlic Shrimp
idea adapted from simplyrecipes.com

1 tablespoon butter
salt
pepper
1 clove garlic
1/2 lemon
125g frosted shrimp
2 tablespoons olive oil
1-2 tablespoons parsley

First step: Heat the butter in a pan over medium heat. Cut the garlic into small pieces. Separately cut the parsley.

Second step: Throw the garlic into the butter and add some salt and pepper. Definitely more pepper than salt. Get the juice out of the lemon and sprinkle it into the pan. Combine a bit with a wooden spoon.

Third step: Add the olive oil and throw in the shrimp. Stir from time to time for about 5 minutes. It may take a bit longer or less according to your oven. Just try the shrimp to figure out the right point in time for taking them off the oven.

Fourth step: Put the shrimp on a plate and sprinkle the parsley on top. You can use the remaining oil/butter mix in the pan as sauce.

Easy, isn’t it? I think it’s pretty fast to make and it tastes as I already said delicious. Awesome. Shrimpy! Ah right, while I was creating these yummy shrimp, my room mate made the pretzels shown in the picture. I should teach him to cook, shouldn’t I? It’s like an addiction, once you have started, it’s difficult to go back to the simple things like out of the oven pretzels. Shrimp taste just sooooo good.

As I made the basil pesto yesterday and it’s 1 cup of pesto in the end, I had some leftovers today. When I decided to make the shrimp, I knew that by recipe no side-dish was present. I decided to keep it simple and go with walnut ciabatta. Additionally, I could use the ciabatta in combination with the pesto and goat cheese for an in-between snack. Therefore, you can add “eat basil pesto with walnut ciabatta and goat cheese” to the what can I do with basil pesto list.

Responses

  1. Teach me cooking?! :-D
    Wait till sunday, then it’s the first time for me to cook in our new home. If it tastes good, may I post a guest contribution to your blog? :-P

    • I’ll take it into consideration! ;)

  2. It’s going into the right direction :D

    • meaning that you can eat it and that it doesn’t have much fat in it to destroy the perfect body? ;)

      • close guess :)
        I thought of this very delicious looking dish as a good source of protein to build up the perfect body.
        but it’s understood that fat has also to be considered in an athlete’s diet :D


Leave a Reply

Categories

