Posted by: Anja | March 11, 2010

Green’s the color of my day!

Green’s a beautiful color, don’t you think so? Especially when it’s snowing outside, big white snowflakes that seem to never stop coming down. Seriously, will it ever stop snowing? Right now watching the big fir outside my window growing heavy with snow, it doesn’t seem to. I like the winter, but I figure that in March it should be over, right? I mean… March! Hello? The official deadline is March, 20th, and I want to see some green by there outside!

So instead of seeing it outside, I created my own cheery green world in the kitchen, making basil pesto. It’s the second time I’ve made this pesto and I promised my friend, with whom I tested it the first time, to blog about it, supporting her with the information on ingredients. See, I kept my promise! Since it’s the second time I’m making this you can imagine that the pesto tastes good. And it does! You can put it into pasta as I did today, but also on bread. For example an option is to brush a baguette with the pesto and then add goat cheese or mozzarella on top of it. Put this into the oven for a couple of minutes and the result will be divine!

Basil Pesto
idea adapted from simplyrecipes.com

1 cup basil leaves
1/2 cup parmesan cheese
1/2 cup olive oil
1/2 cup walnuts
2 small garlic cloves
pinch of salt
black pepper, freshly grounded

First step: Throw the basil leaves and the garlic into a food processor. Mix a bit, it won’t combine very much though.

Second step: Pour in the olive oil. Now process more, scraping down the sides of the bowl from time to time, to combine the garlic and the basil leaves better.

Third step: Add the walnuts and pulse again. This may take a bit, try switching between high and low speed in pulsing, to get every nut processed.

Fourth step: Throw in the parmesan, salt and pepper, continue scraping down the sides after pulsing a bit, to distribute all ingredients evenly in the pesto. Pulse until everything’s combined. Finished!

See? It’s really easy, isn’t it? Now here’s how you can use it for pasta: When you make the pasta, reserve about 1 cup of salted pasta water. It’s best taken directly out of the pan before draining the pasta. Drain the pasta and while doing so, pour some olive oil into the pan where you made the pasta in. Add the pasta and also the salted water. Whisk with a wooden spoon to combine. Add about 1 tablespoon of pesto for 100g of pasta, or make it more or less basil pesto suiting your taste.

As I already mentioned, the recipe can be used in other ways as well, just experiment a bit and tell me about it. :)

Ah, right. I totally forgot: The recipe that I’ve written down here makes about 1 cup of pesto. Have fun!

Responses

  1. Wunderfully arranged photos… Just like in the cookbook! (ok, but we need a new worktop :))

    • agree to the worktop!
      but first we need some money. ;)


Leave a Reply

Categories

