Posted by: Anja | March 9, 2010

New oven euphoria leads to…

… blondies! Blondies? Yes, blondies! You know brownies? The chocolate thingies that stick to your teeth when biting into them because there’s just so much chocolate in them? I actually once created brownies with three different kinds of chocolate, white, milk and bittersweet. Let me phrase it like that: Overkill! It was just like a solid chocolate bar with different kinds of chocolate sticking together. Which reminds me of the cow chocolate of the purple chocolate producer. Anyone remembers that? That was kind of awesome though it looked better than it tasted.

But I’m drifting off topic, where was I? Right, blondies and new ovens. My room mates got our new oven yesterday but when it comes to electronics, we are rather clueless. Therefore a friend of mine – thanks again so much! – helped us today to get the oven up and running and what should I say? It works! And I’m just so blissfully happy that I had to make something directly. About 15 minutes after the fuse was back in place, the oven was running to make my first batch of blondies.

So what are blondies? I’ve come across a couple of recipes during my big recipe research, which is still underway. I remembered snickerdoodle and cream cheese blondies, but today I was more in the mood for mascarpone. That is a kind of cream cheese, but made from crème fraiche. You can use it for example in a mix with fruits to be served on a summer picnic. To make my blondies yellow, and to make them taste yellow, lemon is used as contrast to the mascarpone in this recipe.

Lemon Mascarpone Blondies
idea adapted from simplyrecipes.com

120g butter, melted
200g brown sugar
1 egg
250g mascarpone
2 tablespoons lemon juice
2 1/2 teaspoons lemon zest
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
pinch of salt
120g flour

First step: Whisk together the melted butter and the sugar. I used light brown sugar, but the original recipe longs for dark brown sugar. Up to your taste.

Second step: Add the egg, the lemon juice and the lemon zest to the butter mixture. Stir until combined. Preheat the oven to 175°C.

Third step: Add the mascarpone to your mixture. It may need a couple of minutes of whisking to combine the mascarpone with the other ingredients, so take your time. It should then look like in the picture.

Fourth step: Combine the dry ingredients, the flour, salt and baking powder in a separate bowl. Then whisk them step by step into the mascarpone mixture.

Fifth step: Pour the blondie dough into a 20cm * 20cm square baking form. Because I didn’t have one, I used a 22cm round spring form. It worked fine. Put into the oven for 25-30 minutes, depending on your oven. Once out of the there, let the blondies cool completely, else they are hard to cut.

I actually tried out another recipe today as well, but I’m not yet sure whether I should show the results to you or not. I marinated chicken in a garlic, mustard and soy sauce mix and I still haven’t figured out whether I liked it or not. It was kind of sweet because of the garlic but also hmm… spicy? sour? because of the other ingredients. I have to keep on thinking about this…

Back to my blondies! I enjoyed them a lot as did my room mate and once they were cooled down, we ate them right away. It took us approximately 10 minutes to finish off the whole batch. Yeah, we are good. ;)

I strictly advise to make these blondies!

Leave a Reply

Categories

