Posted by: Anja | March 8, 2010

Self-made gnocchi in no time – that’s how easy food can be!

I always thought of self-made noodles as something that affords some amount of dedication and handiness, a good recipe and some cooking instruments that help you with the difficult stuff. But it’s just so easy! Okay, let’s be fair, gnocchi aren’t exactly noodles but in my mind they are strongly attached to pasta, as they are Italian. I always thought of gnocchi as something made out of potatoes, but that’s wrong. Gnocchi can be made from potatoes, yes, but also wheat flour or bread crumbs. The name is not defining the ingredient, according to wikipedia it just means something like “lumps”, so small heaps of something edible. Enough information for today?

Okay, let’s get down to business. I found the recipe on eat me, delicious, describing them as the best gnocchi ever. I couldn’t get away from the recipe, it has hovered in my head since Saturday when I wasn’t able to shop for groceries to try it. As a result, I went in today and bought ricotta and lemons. Unfortunately I noticed at home that I had not that much parmesan left as I had estimated. As a result, I couldn’t stick exactly to the recipe here, but for my taste, a hint parmesan more would have suited the gnocchi just fine.

Pan-Fried Lemon Ricotta Gnocchi

220g whole milk ricotta
70g parmesan
1 large egg yolk
1 teaspoon lemon zest
1/2 teaspoon salt
90g flour
1 tablespoon fresh parsley
2 tablespoons butter
1 tablespoon olive oil

First step: Cut the parsley into small bits. Combine the ricotta with the parmesan, the egg yolk, the lemon zest and the parsley.

Second step: Sprinkle in half of the flour and whisk to incorporate. Add the rest of the flour and knead the dough. You may need to add some additional flour to keep the dough from becoming too sticky, depending on how much ricotta and egg yolk you have used. It shouldn’t be too dry though, a bit sticky is good. Heat the olive oil and the butter in pan on medium to high heat.

Third step: Partition the dough into four parts and roll them out to form 2cm logs. Cut 2*2cm pieces from the roll.

Fourth step: Put the gnocchi into the pan and let them brown. It depends on your oven how long that takes, just keep an eye on them and don’t let them burn. The easiest way to find out whether they are ready is to try them. For me it took about 8 minutes.

Fifth step: Garnish with left-over lemon zest and parsley and serve.

The recipe serves about 1.5 people as full meal. Though I really liked the lemon touch, I thought that the gnocchi were a bit dry served alone without a sauce. Don’t misunderstand me, the consistency is awesome and they taste good, I just want something to go with it. I haven’t figured out which sauce will fit though. Probably I’ll try it with a lemon sauce, heavy cream, lemon and maybe a hint of white wine, or something like that. And yes, I’ll surely make them again!

Enjoy the recipe!

Responses

  1. Enjoyed it :-) Very substantial food!


Leave a Reply

Categories

