Posted by: Anja | March 6, 2010

A chocolate dream come true…

… and isn’t this cake exactly what we all want secretly? At least I do. And I know that most of you – at least those of you that work together with me – do as well as this cake was the one that was first attacked on my “goodbye work” party. And with attacked I mean sliced until only half of the cake was left while the others were still untouched. But hey, life’s hard and chocolate is just so good!

The recipe is pretty basic, just chocolate, butter and sugar with some binder in between to keep those ingredients together. So if you decide to take a shot at this recipe, turn your calorie conscience off for some hours and just enjoy. I found the recipe on The Wednesday Chef blog, one of my favorites. There’s nothing really extravagant like some little trick or special gimmick, it is really straightforward with a good tasting chocolate cake as a result.

Chocolate Cake

240g butter
200g bittersweet chocolate
5 large eggs, seperated
200g sugar
60g flour
pinch of salt

First step: Butter a 9”, I used a 22cm, spring pan and set aside. Preheat the oven to 200°C.

Second step: Melt the butter and chocolate in a pan over low heat on the oven. Meanwhile combine the egg yolks, the sugar and the flour in a bowl.

Third step: Pour the melted chocolate mix into the the bowl and whisk until combined. Separately beat the egg whites with a pinch of salt until they are stiff. This is best done with an electronic mixer, at least I never could make it with manual labor.

Fourth step: Spoon the egg whites into the batter until evenly combined and then pour everything into the pan. Put the pan into the oven for about 25 minutes.

Fifth step: Let the cake cool for one hour outside the oven and then refrigerate it for at least two hours.

As you can see from the first picture, just putting chocolate inside the cake was not enough to me, but I also made a chocolate frosting consisting of milk chocolate and butter. I used about 100g of each, but the next time I’ll guess I’ll have to make a bit less frosting, because it was just too much to pour everything on top of the cake. I guess a 70g option would work fine here. Ah right, the original recipe is served with whipped cream, so it’s probably worth a try as well.

Additionally I have to say that personally I’d like to try the cake next time directly out of the refrigerator. I had it outside for some hours because I was at work and had no refrigerator at hand and it got a bit soft and gooey. I don’t like that too much though it did not affect the taste in any way. I’ll just try it the other way the next time to see whether that’s better for my personal taste.

I hope that you’ll enjoy this recipe and read this blog a little bit more often, maybe write a comment or something – it’s so lonely with just me writing here!

PS: Oven’s coming in on Monday – please, God! Really looking forward to it, so prepare for some new recipes!

Leave a Reply

Categories

