Posted by: Anja | March 3, 2010

Flat discs made of white chocolate and walnuts!

Living without an oven is hard. It really is! You don’t know how much you need something until you notice that you don’t have it. Right now, when I’m making food I’m like “okay, I’d like some apple turnovers – shit I need an oven!” or “hmm.. some baked goat cheese would be nice right now – ah right, I don’t have an oven!”. It’s really getting on my nerves. Especially since the arrival of our new oven seems to move out of reach as we can’t seem to get a grab on the person, from which we auctioned it.

Anyway, in wise foresight, I made a picture of the cookies that I created to provide the people that helped me move with an in-between snack. I was inspired by cookies called White Chocolate Whalers (why are they called like that?) that I found on a newly discovered food blog called eat me, delicious. I liked the idea of combining white chocolate and orange flavor, but I’m not a great advocate of rice cereal, that’s why I replaced the cereal with walnuts. The rest of the recipe basically stayed the same, except that I also reduced the amount of white chocolate. So here is the recipe for the re-made whalers.

White Chocolate Whalers

240g butter
2 teaspoons orange zest
370g flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
2 large egg whites
200g sugar
1 package vanilla sugar
125g walnuts, chopped
200g white chocolate, chopped

First step: Heat a pan to low heat and add the butter and orange zest. Keep it on the oven until the butter is melted. Combine flour and salt in a bowl, set aside. Preheat the oven to 160°C.

Second step: In another bowl, beat the eggs and additional whites with the sugar until smoothly combined. Then add the butter mix as well as the vanilla sugar. Whisk until combined and then whisk in the flour and salt.

Third step: Spoon the white chocolate and the walnuts into the batter until they are evenly spread in the dough.

Fourth step: Prepare an oven tray with baking parchment and drop the dough on top, about one heaved tablespoon per droplet. Leave about 3-4cm between the droplets. The batter is for approximately three trays, if you use an upper and lower heat oven, the trays need to be made one after the others, in air circulation ovens parallel baking is possible. Put the tray into the oven for 16-18 minutes. If your cookies are smaller, check on them a bit earlier.

What’s special about these cookies is the absence of baking powder or soda. That means that they do not puff in the oven, but just flatten, so keep that in mind when deciding on the cookie size and the space that you leave between the droplets.

I liked these cookies very much, because depending on where you bit into them, a different flavor popped up in your mouth. Surely they are adaptable to personal taste, if you are not as into walnuts as I am, other nuts (or switching back to rice cereal) provide a good alternative. Else I really liked the orange taste, that’s why I directly made orange muffins the day after that. In the cookies, it’s present but not overwhelming. If you want it to taste a bit stronger, just increase the amount of orange zest. I used one orange to get the zest here. I hope you’ll enjoy trying the recipe by yourself!

Leave a Reply

Categories

