Posted by: Anja | February 25, 2010

About baking experiments and cinnamon buns…

I baked for four or five hours two days ago! In a row! No breaks, no slowing down, straight and forward baking. I did three different cakes, a batch of cinnamon buns and a non-sweet feta-mozzarella combination. Actually, I never tried either recipe except for the last, so the whole thing was a big-scale recipe test with the test persons being my co-workers. My thoughts were that as it’s my last week working here right on the spot, I had nothing to loose but only opinions to gain. So here are the results:

Chocolate Cake: It was very good, though very chocolatey. If it’s not served directly out of the refrigerator, the chocolate melts a bit due to the temperature. Therefore it’s probably better to serve cold.

Blueberry-Lemon Crumble Cake: I loved that one! It’s my personal favorite, probably because of my current lemon spree. I thought it very refreshing and the blueberries and crumbles gave it a cheerful look.

Apple Cake: Good, but a bit too heavy for my taste. The apples need to be really fresh for this one to counter the heavy other ingredients.

Cinnamon Buns: Really good! Normally I’m a bit cautious when it comes to making my own dough for bread-like, non-cakey, stuff. Here, it was really easy and fun to make. The cinnamon taste came through in a good way, it was not overwhelming but perfectly right.

Tiropitakia: I didn’t get a bite out of these, but as I made the recipe already a couple of times, I know that feta, mozzarella and fresh scallions with garlic and herbs is always a good combination and not too heavy. Perfect snack recipe.

I decided to publish the recipe for the cinnamon buns here, as they were easy to make and tasted really good. I don’t know exactly where the recipe comes from, I’ve written it down on paper without any reference to the source and I didn’t find anything by using a specific common search engine or moving through the recipe indexes of my most used food blogs. So here comes the recipe as used for my cinnamon buns.

Cinnamon Buns

filling:

160g brown sugar
60g white sugar
3 teaspoons cinnamon
pinch salt
30g melted butter

dough:

300g flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 3/4 teaspoons baking powder
2 tablespoons white sugar
30g + 30g melted butter
1 1/4 cups buttermilk

glaze:

3 tablespoons buttermilk
powdered sugar

First step: Mix all the ingredients for the filling and combine with a spoon until it is a homogeneous mass. Refrigerate while making the dough. Preheat the oven to 200°C.

Second step: Combine the flour, salt and baking powder. Add the sugar and after that 30g butter and the buttermilk. You probably need to get your hands in it at this point, the dough needs to be kneaded thoroughly.

Third step: Put some flour on a flat surface to roll out the dough. The dough is a bit sticky, so you might need to flour it as well before rolling. Roll the dough to a 20 * 30cm rectangle. If it is a bit larger, it’s okay. Spread 30g melted butter on top of the rolled-out dough. Take the filling out of the refrigerate and distribute evenly on top.

Fourth step: Butter a muffin pan for 12 muffins. Roll the dough from the longer edge and pinch the seams together. Cut the roll into 12 pieces that are about the same size. Put the buns into the buttered muffin forms. Put the muffin form into the oven for about 20 minutes.

Fifth step: While the buns are in the oven, prepare the glaze by combining the 3 tablespoons of buttermilk with powdered sugar. Add as much sugar as you are comfortable with, it should be a milky, viscous liquid in the end. Get the buns out of the oven and let them cool for five minutes. Spread the glaze above the buns and let cool completely.

As I said, nothing difficult about this recipe. Plus: You can knead! I just love the feel of dough under my fingers and the feeling when the ingredients come together.  I hope that you’ll enjoy it as well!

Responses

  1. i may not have contemplated this had been interesting a few years ago and yet it is funny the way in which time changes the manner in which you comprehend unusual creative ideas, many thanks for the piece of writing it is really enjoyable to browse through some thing clever once in a while instead of the normal garbage mascarading as blogs on the internet, i’m off to take up a couple of rounds of zynga poker, take care


Leave a Reply

Categories

