Posted by: Anja | February 11, 2010

From chocolate to lemon…

Yeah, I made that jump. I ate a double-chocolate cookie (I still got some, yeah!) and afterwards a lemon-raspberry muffin. Awesome!

So where do I start today? Hmm… When I was at work, I remembered that I still had to bake something, because I am going away for a couple of days – skiing, I’m really looking forward to that – and someone’s watching out for my animals. So I went for something fun and light today, nothing heavy, so skip the chocolate. Okay, what’s fun and light? Right, raspberries! I do love raspberries, not only when it’s their season, but all the time. They’re fresh, they’re red (a very important point) and … hmm… I’m out of descriptions, but they’re just awesome!

I remembered that I read about a recipe that originates from Susan Elizabeth Fallon, posted in Bon Appetit. It is a recipe for lemon muffins, really light ones, topped with some raspberries to give the muffins a kick.

Lemon Muffins topped with Raspberries:

250g sugar, separated in 220g and 30g
4 teaspoons lemon zest
240g flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
120g butter
1 large egg
200ml buttermilk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

100 – 150g raspberries

First step: Mix 30g of sugar with the lemon zest, put aside. Mix flour, baking powder and salt in an extra bowl, put aside. Preheat the oven to 190°C.

Second step: Combine the butter and the rest of the sugar until the combination is smooth. Beat in the egg and the vanilla powder or extract. Add the buttermilk and don’t despair if the dough seems to flock, just whisk the mix until all the ingredients are combined.

Third step: Pour the lemon-sugar mix into the buttermilk combination. If you want to, keep a bit lemon sugar to put on top of the muffins once they are done. Add the flour mix and whisk some time until everything is combined and the dough seems smooth but fluffy.

Fourth step: Fill in the muffins in the muffin form, preferably using paper forms. As the muffins will grow large because of the baking powder, try not to fill the muffin forms to the top. The dough is for 14 muffins, which is a bit annoying, but after pouring the batter into 12 muffin forms, I have to say that it works for 12, but will be better with 14. Put 4 raspberries per muffin on top of the dough and put the muffin form in the oven. With my oven, I had to wait around 30 minutes, but the recipe says 35. Try to keep an eye on the muffins from time to time, they can be golden on top, that does not hurt the taste at all!

This time I consulted the recipe rather carefully, replacing only the vanilla extract with vanilla sugar. And I have to say: The muffins were really good! They are not heavy, but fresh due to the fruits. I don’t like too much lemon, but here it’s really balanced and not overpowering which I think is cause of the buttermilk. The raspberries on the other hand, build a good contrast to the lemon-buttermilk mix not just in optics. So my tip: Try them for yourself, the recipe is pretty easy and tastes good!

Leave a Reply

Categories

