Posted by: Anja | February 10, 2010

Weeeee… the first real entry! or: how to drown in chocolate

I spend some time thinking on the bus on my way home how I’ll start this real first entry, but why the hell bother with an impressive entry line or some smart comment, you’re just reading this to get the first recipe anyway! But as I am in the mood to write a bit, you can either linger over my intellectual effusions or skip to the bottom of this entry in search of the recipe. So where was I? Right, on the bus. I do a lot of thinking while I’m going by bus, as I do that a lot of my time, approximately 1.5 hours per day. Yesterday for example I was thinking about how I am going to try some new recipes that I read about on the internet. Since a few weeks I am really into food blogs and reading about food makes me hungry, that’s why I really, REALLY, wanted to try those recipes.

The first one was a double-chocolate cookie recipe that sounded just like sooooo much chocolate that it could only be good. There is no way that that much chocolate can result in something bad. No way! The second was a chocolate-cheesecake combination as cupcakes. I made some cheesecake-chocolate brownies a couple of weeks back and they were awesome. That’s why I wanted to give the cupcakes a shot at beaming me up to chocolate heaven. I took the recipe from another food blog called smitten kitchen. It was a blog I had found just that day, but the recipe sounded great so I just had to try it. Anyway, here is the recipe:

Cheesecake filling:

8 ounces cream cheese, regular or reduced fat, at room temperature
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg, at room temperature
2 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, coarsely chopped

Chocolate bottom:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
5 tablespoons natural unsweetened cocoa powder (not Dutch-process)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup water
1/3 cup unflavored vegetable oil
1 tablespoon white or cider vinegar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Well, that’s the original recipe. I didn’t have all the things listed in there, so I improvised a bit. For example vanilla extract: I searched every supermarket that is in reach for vanilla extract, but it seems to be rare in Germany. It is not the same as our aroma stuff, so don’t try to use that as replacement. I tried it and take my word for it: If you add it 1-to-1, you’re going to have a vanilla smell and taste that’s kind of overpowering. I just replaced it with some vanilla sugar in this recipe. Additionally I didn’t have baking soda, I read that baking soda is part of the baking powder but can get bitter when not counteracted when using it for baking. I’m a bit fuzzy on the details and as I didn’t have any, I just replaced it with baking powder in the same amount. Next thing on my list of things I don’t have: Vegetable oil. What the hell’s that? Does anyone use that in a kitchen that is fit for student cooking? I actually never heard of it until yesterday so I looked it up in Wikipedia but the article looked kind of boring, so I closed it again. I just replaced the oil with butter, because the first link I got by using a specific search engine said that I could. Oh, I didn’t have the vinegar either, I just left that one out. Hmm… did I forget something? Oh yeah, I used only 200g cream cheese, because 225g (8 ounces) are hard to get and I didn’t want to open a new package just because of 25g. I also added one medium egg instead of a large one.

So with the remaining ingredients (yeah, some were still left) i made the cupcakes.

First step: Chop the chocolate for the filling, I used about 60g bittersweet chocolate. Put aside. Whisk the egg with the cream cheese and sugar, it may take some time until you don’t have any crumbs remaining, so take your time (or use some electrical magic wand). Spoon the chocolate in and put aside again. Preheat the oven to 175°C.

Second step: Mix all the dry ingredients of the chocolate part of the cupcakes. That means combining flour, brown sugar, baking powder, salt and vanilla sugar for example with a spoon in a bowl. As I don’t have any electric help for mixing, I heated the butter and poured it into the dry mix together with the water. The recipe then says “don’t overmix”, so I tried not to whisk too long but just that the ingredients are combined and I don’t have any dry spots in the dough.

Third step: Put paper forms into your muffin form. If you don’t have any, butter the form. Distribute the chocolate dough evenly. Try to make a whole in the middle of each cupcake and pour the filling in the forms. Put into the oven and wait approximately 25minutes. For me, it was a little bit longer, around 28minutes. Just wait until the cheesecake layer begins to golden.

Well, that’s it for the first recipe description. Now my personal result: I really loved making these cupcakes and I also enjoyed their taste. Anyway, I am going to do some things a bit different the next time that I’ll make them. First, I’ll do a bit less of the chocolate dough part, because it was just a bit overpowering in comparison to the cheesecake part. That’s why I’ll also give the extra 25g cream cheese a shot. I also need to keep an eye on really making a small hole in the middle of the dough for the filling, else it is pressed to the side of the cupcakes by the chocolate part. The cheesecake layer was a bit sticky, but tasty and not too sweet, a very good contrast to the sweet chocolate taste. Yeah, I’ll definitely make these again!

Responses

  1. Mmm, they look wonderful! Welcome to the blogging community, good luck with your blog!

  2. You might be able to get “true” vanilla extract at some better food stores, e.g. basement of some bigger Karstadt store – faced the same problem some time ago, at least in Hamburg some years ago they had it.

    Hope you like your work even though you seem to have long bus rides, greetings from the Garching computer science library (should be learning)..

  3. Check out this recipe: http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/chocolate-puddle-cookies-recipe.html

    It reminded me of your chocolate cookies :)

  4. Yeah, I saw that one a couple of hours ago. It looks similar but it is with nuts and without any actual chocolate. Guess I’ll try it sometime, but right now I got some double-chocolate cookies still remaining. :D


Leave a Reply

Categories

