Posted by: Anja | October 7, 2010

Chocolate Chip Scones

Can you imagine any better way to start the day than to get up, directly head for the kitchen and bake chocolate chip scones, showering while they are in the oven? When you get out, the whole apartment smells like chocolate. If you’re as lucky as me, you’ll even get company because your neighbor forgets his key at home and has to come over to call for help. I like to start my days like that. :)

Chocolate chips are one of the few things I can never seem to get away from. Even if I do a triple chocolate brownie, feeling really high on chocolate (and a little queasy) afterwards, I can’t turn off my longing for more chocolate. When I was a kid, I used to eat Kinder chocolate all the time. Up to 600g a week. Fortunately, I somehow avoided any negative effects and my appetite for chocolate has never faltered. Chocolate chip scones are the newest addition to my chocolate repertoire (chocolate chip waffles, chocolate chip cookies, brownies, chocolate cake etc.), and I really, really enjoyed them. They are rather easy to make and it took me only 10 minutes to assemble everything, knead the dough and cut the wedges. Altogether a 30 minutes recipe for an awesome self-made and chocolaty breakfast.

 

Chocolate Chip Scones
idea adapted from Brown Eyed Baker

200g flour
60g sugar
2 teaspoons of baking powder
pinch of salt
220ml heavy cream
2 teaspoon butter
50g  milk chocolate chips
50g bittersweet chocolate chips

First step: Preheat the oven to 190°C. Combine the flour, salt, baking powder and sugar in a bowl. Add the chocolate chips and use a spoon to combine everything. Add the heavy cream and knead the dough to form a ball.

Second step: Roll out the dough. I didn’t even need to flour the surface, because the dough was not sticky. Start melting the butter in a small pot over medium heat. Form a 25cm circle out of the dough, like a small pizza. Cut the dough into 8 wedges and put on a baking tray with parchment paper or a buttered/oiled cookie sheet.

Third step: Spread the butter over the upper side of the scones. Put into the oven for 15 – 20 minutes, then let cool down for 10 minutes. Enjoy warm or cooled down.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

